More Eighties Awesomeness

Writing for Like Totally 80’s is such a blast in every way. I’m still doing my test-writing, too, and have submitted one romance novella and have another underway. Fingers crossed…

By the way, there is quite a collection of 80s costume ideas on LT80s if you are thinking of dressing up eighties style this Halloween. I have contributed a few, but there are a ton of great ideas on the site.

There were thirty million and three music videos in the 80s, but here’s a list of my favorite high production videos. Costumes, plot lines, way cool sets. Yes! It’s probably the obvious choice, but I think my have has to be “Take On Me,” for its comic-strip awesomeness and cute boys.

I wanted to write an article about the handful of sugary cereals from the 80s that are no longer around. I mean, how many could there be, right? Turns out, A LOT. It was an artificially colored and super-sweet OPUS. Fancy a heaping bowl of Cabbage Patch Kids or Gremlins this morning? Yummy!

This breakdancing article was SO fun to write. I think the Alfonso Ribeiro commercial is a hoot. It reminds me of the instructional dance video in Napoleon Dynamite. And yes, I did a lot of practicing the wave and the moonwalk while writing this. Obviously.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LaDonna
    Oct 09, 2011 @ 19:37:35

    I really enjoy your 80’s writing! Brings back so many memories. When my daughter was getting married I thought she would want to wear my wedding dress that I had saved so carefully. Nope, it was too “80’s”. Wouldn’t even consider cutting down those bit old puffy sleeves or anything. Really enjoy your writing.

  2. Mama Jamz
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 16:00:36

    Thanks, LaDonna. I’m so glad you like it. :)

    My teenagers are so funny about the 80’s. I think they are just at the age where the 80’s actually seem kind of cool. They do say they can always tell 80’s music from other decades’, but I think they like it. The high-waisted clothes crack them up, though. I saved my wedding dress too, but I guess it will go without another wearing, unless I have a granddaughter one day who thinks it’s vintage cool. I think big ol’ elaborate wedding dresses are gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

