It’s almost election day

and man there are some angry, venom-spewing Republicans out there.

I sympathize, since it looks like McCain is going to lose and I know they’re bummed out about that, but they still don’t need to spout the hateful and ignorant stuff I’ve been hearing.

For example:

Obama’s not a U.S. citizen.

Obama’s a baby-killer.

Obama is the Antichrist.

All of which is so baffling and bizarre that I just don’t even know how to process it.  Where are people hearing this stuff?  It’s crazy-talk.  I’ll be so glad when this is over and the nastiness can stop.

We’re having good conversations with the boys about it, though.  Learning opportunities and whatnot.  The boys and I went for a walk and talked some more about some common differences that people note about the Dems and Republicans (and yes, I tried to be very balanced) and why it is that people are fired up in such a hostile way about a Democrat getting elected (tax anxiety, abortion, the greater possibility of gay marriage, for example).  We talked about how our state is largely Republican, and there are a lot of fundamentalist Christians around here, and that’s why they’re hearing all the wildly anti-Obama stuff they’re hearing at school.

And it’s a good opportunity to tell them (again) that they get to believe whatever they want to believe, about religion or politics or abortion or whatever.

But, I must admit I have a headache just thinking about all the contention.  I tried handing out fliers for the party at the arts center (tomorrow at 7:30 – it’ll be great!) and quickly determined that I am NOT meant to be a political activist.  It is ZERO fun having strangers get mad at you and tell you not to bother giving them a flier because they’ll just throw it away, and then spit out one of the horrible false statements above.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cyndi
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 00:58:42

    Hey Julie, I like the new blog! I voted on Friday & I am an Obama Mama! Sara Palin just scares the shit outta me! Did you see her Katie Couric interview?…ay yi yi! LOL

  2. thisbumpyjourney
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 01:31:04

    Totally, Cyndi. She was so incoherent, it was amazing. I get it that she was probably nervous, but that would be terrifying to have McCain die and then have her in charge during stressful situations, which would arise fast when the rest of the world saw that she was in charge. I’m voting tomorrow. 🙂

  3. charmarie221
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 05:48:56

    Good for you for trying something. I just want to run screaming through this state with my hands over my ears. The ignorance is overwhelming and I have been chastised many times for my ridiculous, liberal views. Only in Texas would I be seen as a liberal. Well, and Oklahoma!!

    My big fear is the fringie loonies doing something stupid.

  4. thisbumpyjourney
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 11:49:03

    No kidding, char. Rockinrolla comes home from school with quotes from the other kids that are just nauseating, and I guess they’re hearing that at home. I’m sure his security will be tight, but we’ll all still worry.

    Another gem that my friend Katie shared with me yesterday:

    In six months, he’ll have us all wearing burkas, you wait and see!!

Leave a Reply

