here we go – woo!

I actually have to hustle this morning (yuck, yuck, gagging sounds) because I told my friend Diane I would help her set up for the Obama party tonight.  I’m about to shower before I wake the boys up, which is not the way the world usually works around here, and blow dry my hair and put on makeup when it’s still inarguably early-ish morning.

I do hope he wins.  I do, I do, I do.

And not only for the policies.  I have my own selfish reason, too.  There’s an excellent chance that we will adopt a biracial baby, and I think that having a biracial man as president will go a long way toward advancing this country’s race views.  If a biracial man can be elected president, we are making some huge strides toward real equality, which is very exciting, and will make Rainbow proud.

Adoption news:  There is no adoption news.

Except: Aunt Sue sent me a promising attorney-with-adoption-connections lead yesterday.  I left him a phone message and will give him a day or two to respond before I try again.  (Those pesky lawyers can be so dang BUSY.)

And Kimi took my one-page fact sheet to a family member who’s also a birthmother, and is active on birthmama chat rooms.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. B
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 16:35:50

    I’ve been wishing I could do more for you in the adoption front, but living in Canada doesn’t help much. Today I just had an ah! moment when I read your “And Kimi” part of your adoption news. I know tons of people who live in different parts of the States and connected to different volunteer groups, chat rooms, and things like that focused on adoption and BP’s. If you want email me some information and I will pass it along to them so they can spread it around for you a little more. Hopefully with more exposure you’ll have a little one in your arms sooner! Email me if you want.

  2. Daddy J
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 20:53:44

    Tee-hee…Mama Jamz is an ACTIVIST!

  3. thisbumpyjourney
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 21:58:52

    That would be GREAT, B. I’ll email you my one-page fact sheet. 🙂 🙂 🙂

  4. sweetsalty kate
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 13:37:07

    So happy to find you all settled here – I love the design you chose. Lovely olivey colours. I can’t write much this moment but wanted to wish you light since Wardie’s birthday… that physical ache… I know.

    And congratulations on the new Omerica!!! Can you hear all the cheering from up here? Canada is thrilled. Beyond thrilled. Good for you for being a dissenting voice of tolerance and hope and respect. xoxo

  5. cousin katie
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 22:39:03

    Isn’t it an exciting day today? I blogged it: http://www.babble.com/CS/blogs/homework/archive/2008/11/05/Barack-Obama_2C00_-Politics_2C00_-Katie-Allison-Granju.aspx

    I am trying to figure out the best place to hang your flyer. You all look so lovely in the photos that I really want you to adopt ME!

Leave a Reply

