The wedding

was great.

We were embarrasingly late.  We got there as the bridesmaids were filing down the aisle, so we waited in the foyer until Erin and her dad had walked to the front of the church, and were hustled in by the wedding coordinator.  Whoops.

It was a lovely, simple church ceremony.  Erin looked gorgeous in a strapless gown, with fabric swished about the bodice in a mock-wrap and sequins and beads on the bust (that lil’ description was for the WOMEN out there.  Men: she wore a long, white dress.)  She had her hair in a low bun and a simple net veil – so pretty.  And carried creamy white flowers.

***sigh***

cake-cutting

They were just so bright-eyed and fully in love and adorable.  I got all emotional during my Uncle Steve’s (no resemblance to the gecko) dance with Erin, and full-on weepy when the groom danced with his mother. 

steve_erin_dance

I kept thinking about dancing with the Fishmaster at his wedding, and it was kind of too much for my poor heart to handle.  When he was a  wee scooter, we used to dance to Emmylou Harris’s Ballad of Sally Rose before naptime, and I was just going back through those songs to see what we could dance to at his wedding.  (He used to cuddle and ask for Emmy-yoo!  Emmy-yoo! when it was cozy time.  Sweet little Fishmaster.)  Although I know I’ll be a weeping wreck if we dance to one of the songs we used to dance to when he was a baby, I think that’s what I want to do. 

(Yes, the Fishmaster is just almost-13 and will likely not get married for at least a decade, and, as Daddy J rather coldly pointed out, I’m going to have diddly squat to do with the wedding.  Besides, the Fishmaster, if/when he gets married, may just trot down to the courthouse in the county seat, or run off to Vegas.  BUT a girl can dream, right?  And his bride-to-be will WELCOME my guidance, right?  As will her mother.  Right?  RIGHT??!!)

Ahem. 

I love Heart to Heart, but it’s kind of a pledging-of-love song, so might be creepy to dance with him to.  Possibly Timberline will do the trick.  It’s also kind of a yearning-for-your-true-love song, but has a great fast two-step beat that would be fun to dance to.

Which, yeah, I just read the lyrics again and it looks like it wouldn’t work at all for a mother of the groom dance.  Bummer.

***edited to add***  Oooh Oooh!  We could dance to I Think I Love Him.  Now THAT would be tear-jerky.  Very few lyrics (but I could get the band to sing the lyrics twice) but so sweet – when the songs says he said ‘You are my sunshine’, it would be like singing that Sunshine song with him as a toddler and HOW CUTE IS THAT I ASK YOU.

(Let’s refrain from commenting about what it implies about me that I’m already planning my almost-thirteen year old son’s wedding dance with me, m’kay?)

Erin and Owen danced to Elvis’s I Can’t Help Falling in Love with You, which was very sweet. 

Which leads us to the Question of the Day:  Married people – did you have a band or dj at your wedding?  If so, whadja dance to?  And, if your kid(s) are married, whadja dance to with them?  And what did they dance to together?

Daddy J and I danced to Warm Love by Van Morrison (performed by the band at our wedding.)    I can’t find the whole song online, but here’s a preview.  We listened to the album Hard Nose the Highway last night and it was beautiful.

***sniffle***

Warm Love by Van Morrison

I dig it when you’re fancy dressed up in lace
I dig it when you have a smile on your face
This inspirations got to be on the flow
This invitations got to see it and know

Its just warm love
Its just warm love
And it’s everpresent everywhere
And it’s everpresent everywhere
That warm love

To the country Im going
Lay and laugh in the sun
You can bring, bring your guitar along
Well sing some songs, well have some fun

The sky is crying and it’s time to go home
And we shall hurry to the car from the foam
Sit by the fire and dry out our wet clothes
Its raining outside from the skies up above

Inside it’s warm love
Inside it’s warm love
And it’s everpresent everywhere
And it’s everpresent everywhere
Warm love
Warm love

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. charmarie221
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 02:42:58

    I love weddings… sigh… we had a DJ… danced to “I’ll Still Be Loving You” by Restless Heart. It was a song we liked when we we first started dating… and seriously, we realized we both had that casette in our tape decks in our respective cars during that first week of going out together.

    Here’s the killerest wedding song for the Daddy/Daughter dance: “I Loved Her First” by Heartland. Oh. My. Lord. Mike got it for Ashley to play at her wedding and she’d never heard it. He gave her the CD for Christmas with a note saying he wanted to dance at her wedding to that song. She put the CD in in the family room, smiled through the first part, heard the refrain and BURST into tears. At the wedding, all the moms/dads were either crying or pretending they weren’t. If you know the song, you know what I mean; if not, look it up and have a listen.

  2. thisbumpyjourney
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 13:40:44

    Love your wedding song, Char. How cool that you both had that cassette in your cars.

    I’m playing “I Loved Her First” and am getting all goosebumpy. So sweet. It’s like they wrote it for daddy/daughter dances. Sigh.

  3. thisbumpyjourney
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 13:41:51

    Oh, wait, the lyrics go on – it’s totally written for a dad/daughter moment. Very pretty and bittersweet.

  4. Daddy J
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 15:04:11

    I love you, baby. I know I fuss about weddings, but that’s what guys are supposed to do. I had a great time with you.

    Let’s listen to Hardnose the Highway again when I get home.

    XOXOX

  5. thisbumpyjourney
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 15:08:41

    Nice, Daddy J. It’s a date. I love you, too.

    XOXOX

  6. charmarie221
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 22:38:02

    My favorite part, cuz you know that whole new baby bonding thing:

    But I loved her first and I held her first
    And a place in my heart will always be hers
    From the first breath she breathed
    When she first smiled at me
    I knew the love of a father runs deep
    And I prayed that she’d find you someday
    But it still hard to give her away
    I loved her first.

    And how sweet of you two, with your date night… 😉

Leave a comment