fairy tale

So, seeing as I had a few glasses of wine at the party we went to last night and told, like, anyone who would listen, even though the goal was to wait a couple more days for some paperwork, I’ll out with it:

We have a MATCH.  And it is an ASTOUNDINGLY WONDERFUL MATCH.

The same social worker called me on Wednesday (the one who had been so unsympathetic with the agency’s screwing up and showing my profile to someone they shouldn’t have) and told me that she was my new best friend.  She told me about this birthmother who had selected us, and she is way more wonderful than we’d dared to hope for.

The prospective birthparents’ health history is fabulous.  She asserts no substance use (even cigarettes) during the pregnancy.  She’s already been to the OB for visits and an ultrasound, and all is well.  Both birthparents state that they are fully committed to the plan, as are their families.

Possibly the best thing about her is her attitude, shown through some of the phrases in her profile: (I’m paraphrasing) I’m so proud of this choice I’ve made…  I’m happy that I can help my child have the kind of life I want for him, the kind of life I can’t provide…

The social worker, in response to my Ohmygosh this is incredible says Yeah, I know.  She’s amazing.  Funny and pretty, too.  But keep in mind that there’s usually a bump with domestic adoption, usually something unexpected shows up, not that it stops it from happening, but there’s just usually something, but, Yeah.  This is a terrific situation.

And I’m just hoping we’ve had our share of bumps and we’re all done with them.  We’re ready for some easy-smoothness.

So.

We’re over the moon.  I’m calmer today, done galloping around the house in joy, but still smiling like a fool.

Our son is due Feb. 15.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. K5
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 14:25:21

    OMG, holy cow – I am so happy for you all. What wonderful, wonderful news.
    COL – crying out loud!

  2. Cheryl
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 15:01:01

    I have goosebumps all over!!! I especially love the last line – Our son is due Feb 15th. I couldn’t be more happy for your family.

  3. Daddy J
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 16:06:31

    We are so stoked!

    I want to make a shout-out to Serendipity…we got the call the DAY AFTER mama’s blog entry of 11/11. Day-um.

  4. heatherinparadise
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 16:19:33

    Oh man oh man. I’m sooo excited and hopeful for you! Best vibes, sunniest of sunshine sent your way for Rainbow.

  5. Jackie
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 17:17:00

    That is soooo awwwwwesome!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’ll keep sending positive energy for everything to run smooth for your precious rainbow!!!!!

  6. cousin katie
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 18:36:23

    WOW! We are all so excited that the new baby cousin is on the way!!!!

  7. Trackback: katie allison granju » some super exciting famly news!!!
  8. Megan DuBois
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 21:03:38

    This is the best news I have heard in a long, long time. already looking forward to the first baby pictures…

  9. charmarie221
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 21:30:25

    I’m so excited for you. Lucky little baby boy….

  10. BonnyW
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 21:53:49

    Crossing my fingers and toes for ya’ll 🙂
    ((HUGS))

  11. thisbumpyjourney
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 23:24:32

    aw, thanks everyone… It’s a really emotional and happy time for us, and I’m glad to share it with you all. 🙂

  12. Erin
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 01:28:12

    That is amazing news! I am so happy for you and for the birth parents. Excellent, excellent, excellent! Now I wonder where this girl I keep dreaming about fits in? 😉

  13. sweetsalty kate
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 13:02:20

    Oh, this new spirit finds a way to you! I’m so thrilled. Come on, February! Don’t drag those heels! 🙂

  14. Mary in Atl
    Nov 17, 2008 @ 03:08:48

    wow wow wow, I can only imagine how excited your family must be. How wonderful for that little boy to have his other mother love him enough to make this choice – and no question how much love your clan has to give!

  15. B
    Nov 18, 2008 @ 19:50:25

    I’m crapping my pants that I missed this because I have been too busy to be online! YIKES. I can’t even say how thrilled I am to hear this WONDERFUL news.

  16. camille
    Nov 19, 2008 @ 13:45:48

    Coming late to the party with this, but…Hallelujah!!!!!!!

  17. skye
    Nov 19, 2008 @ 21:25:01

    I am happy,happy,happy over the moon for you!!!!
    Hurry up February 15!!

Leave a Reply

