letter writing

The social worker who’s working with the birth parents suggested that it would be nice if Daddy J and I sent a letter to the birthparents that describes our excitement and happiness and delightedness with their profile. So, that’s my assignment today.

I wish I had some nice heavy stationery paper, but alas. I do have a variety of cards, but I want to write a letter, not a card. I have some pretty scrapbook-type papers that are legal-size – maybe that would be nice as stationery…? And just send it in a business envelope? Or do I need to put on my grown-up pants and drive out to Target and buy pretty stationery?

Once again, perfectionism battles with laziness, and both war with the need for immediate gratification.

The Fishmaster and Rockinrolla just set out on an explore walk together, which is very gratifying. Back in the day, when they were under 8 or so, they were best friends and co-conspirators. All into Pokemon and Bionicles and Digemon together, living upstairs in their shared attic playroom/bedroom. Their hobbies diverged, and they’ve picked at each other a bit over the past couple of years, but in the last year or so Daddy J and I are happy to see them laughing together and playing together again. They are just 18 months apart, and, while they have different passions, they do have a lot in common.

Brothers, about to have a baby brother.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cousin katie
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 20:40:55

    YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love the way that sounds: brothers about to have a baby brother.

  2. thisbumpyjourney
    Nov 17, 2008 @ 13:53:06

    Thanks, Katie. I like it, too. 🙂

    I ended up taking the boys to Books a Million and finding some nice, heavy cream stationery there. Daddy J and I are fine-tuning the draft of our letter, and then I’ll write it on the nice stationery and get it in the mail this morning.

  3. Wendy
    Dec 26, 2008 @ 12:53:45

    Congratulations on your upcoming adoption. We have two adopted boys. It’s very exciting when it all comes together and the baby is finally yours!

    I know you already got your stationery, but I was going to give you a hint for next time… you can take two sheets of the scrapbook paper. Use one to make an envelope. You can steam apart any old envelope you have in the house, lay it flat and draw around it as your template, then cut it out and glue it together as appropriate.

    With the other piece of paper you can cut one or two (depending on the size) pieces of stationery to match the size of the envelope you made.

    I think it’s really wonderful and charming that you are writing a letter. Not enough people do it these days. I maintain a letter writing web site and love when I run across someone who still does things the old-fashioned way now and again!

Leave a Reply

