fast forward

So, it’s not just me, is it?  Somebody hit the fast foward button around here.  The holidays are galloping – zooming – toward us at breakneck speed.  I mean, hello, Thanksgiving?  Then it’s full-tilt December right on its frickin’ heels, with Christmas parties every time you turn around.  And, oh yeah, I still have eleventy-seven people to shop for.

And (I realize most of you are not in this boat, of course) the adoption is starting to speedwalk its way to us, too.  I have this feeling that December will totally fly by, and by the time I put all the Christmas stuff away, it will be time for SERIOUS get-ready-for-the-baby procedures.  Which is great, and pretty exhilarating.

Also…

We’re meeting the potential birthmom on Monday.

I know.  I know. I KNOW.  Wild times indeed.  She (*insert gushing comments about how wonderful and giving she is **HERE* * because I just don’t even know how to express how mature and all-around great she is*) selflessly invited us to her next OB appointment.  We’re going to take her out to lunch and then go with her to her doctor.  Like, in SIX DAYS.

Which is awesome, but scary, too.  Like, I think both Daddy J and I have this fear that we will say just the wrong thing and scare her away.  Like, maybe she has a phobia of German Shepherds, or maybe she thinks it’s unsafe for boys to play football, or maybe I will blather like an idiot or get food between my teeth or snort tea out my nose…

AND… there’s the whole seeing-our-child-on-the-ultrasound thing.  I’m a little afraid that I will freak out as we build up to that, since the last twelvety-two of those ended in hearbreak for us.  Ultrasounds have not been kind to us in the past few years.

I do feel mostly good about it, though, and heck, we’re nice, right?  *ahem*  RIGHT?!? So we have no reason whatsoever to be paranoid about meeting her, right?  And all her OB appointments have been perfectly normal and healthy so I’m sure Rainbow is fine, right?

****sigh****

No, really, it’s all going so beautifully and gorgeously, and I believe we’re going to have a terrific connection with her and it will be a comfortable, even warm, meeting.

Yes.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cyndi
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 03:30:48

    Hi Julie, I just caught up on your posts…I haven’t been keeping up with my blog readig (or writing) lately. Congratulations on the adoption news…wow, so soon! I’m really happy & excited for you guys!!! 🙂

  2. sweetsalty kate
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 03:51:41

    this is all so exciting… breathe, mama. You’re right on the brink, and you’re bound to feel exposed and scattered and jittery. That’s exactly as you’re supposed to feel. Just sit with it and feel it as love, and hope, all of it sublime. And she’ll see that, too. I know she will. xoxoxo

  3. heatherinparadise
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 13:01:44

    This is so exciting. She is going to totally love you. Everyone does.

  4. cousin katie
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 14:58:10

    Woohoo!!! She’ll love you. Just be sure you try to keep the profanity to a minimum, and you and J. need to try to avoid getting drunk in public, as you are prone to do 😉

    Heh.

  5. B
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 15:16:26

    Hang n there girl! It is going to be amazing when you meet her in person! I can’t wait to read all about it.

  6. Sue Allison
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 16:30:56

    Can you bring home an ultrasound photo so we can meet him too? I’m so excited for all of us! And, there is no doubt at all that meeting you and sunshine’s daddy will totally convince her she’s made a wonderful decision. You should show her the “Welcome Baby” photo so she can see how many people are anxious to love him.

  7. charmarie221
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 17:25:40

    Oh wishing you such a happy meeting. My stomach is fluttery for you…

  8. Sue Allison
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 18:44:30

    I meant Rainbow’s daddy, of course.

  9. thisbumpyjourney
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 22:09:48

    Thanks, everyone. We REALLY appreciate your support. I can’t wait to meet her, and am totally visualizing a great rapport with her. This whole thing is just kind of nerve-wracking, you know?

    I’m hoping that I can bring home the u/s photo. Surely they’ll print out a copy for me, doncha think?

Leave a Reply

