Whatcha makin’, bacon?

I’m making what is possibly my all-time favorite “fancy” dessert (well, except for Mom’s Italian cream cake, but I’ve never made that myself – it seems awfully intimidating, and I kind of don’t want to know how much butterfat is in it.). 

From The New York Times Cookbook (thanks, Skyler!)

Nut Roll

1. Preheat oven to 350.  Coat a jelly roll pan with spray oil, line with a sheet of wax paper, then spray the wax paper well with spray oil.

2. Beat 6 egg yolks  with 3/4 cup sugar until thick.

3. Grind up 1 1/2 cups pecans in the food processor. Mix in 1 teaspoon baking powder.  Fold pecan mixture into egg yolks.

4. Whip 6 egg whites until stiff.  Fold egg whites into pecan/egg yolk mixture.  Spread batter in prepared pan and bake 20 minutes.

5. Cover cake with a damp kitchen  towel and roll up and chill in the fridge.

6. Whip 1 1/2 cups heavy cream  and flavor with sugar and vanilla to taste.  Unroll cake, fill with whipped cream, and roll back up, then chill. 

SOOOOOO delish.  I have mine all baked and waiting til tomorrow for the whipped cream filling.  I like to dust it with powdered sugar, too.

I’m trying out pumpkin pie wontons this year.  They look tasty and exotic, no?  I added minced pecans to my batch.  I’ve got the filling ready to go and will make and bake them tomorrow morning so they’re nice and fresh for the big meal.  I’m also going to make some rolls with rosemary from the garden tomorrow morning.

Daddy J is making Susan Stamberg’s Cranberry Relish Recipe from NPR.  It’s a sour creamy, oniony, horseradishy treat that he’s made the past few years.  Yum.  He’s also making a bleu cheese ball and a garlic-ginger-cranberry chutney.

(clearly, normal self-imposed eating rules do not apply at holiday time.  I’ll probably still avoid meat and poultry, but I imagine there will be some fancy cheeses, cream-infused recipes, smoked salmon, sushi, etc., in my next month or so of eating.  mmmmm…)

Grandma L is making the turk, stuffed grape leaves, and a fancy sounding veggie lasagna for Daddy J’s brother and me, and I’m sure everyone else will have some, too.  Grandma L is  FABULOUS cook so her meals are always to die for.

Soooo… what are you cooking and where are you eating the big meal?  We’ll be at Grandma L’s house with her husband and Daddy J’s brother.  A small but wonderful group.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heatherinparadise
    Nov 27, 2008 @ 14:03:16

    I’m going over to Sara and Steve’s (of course) and Sara is a fantastic cook who loves to do most of the cooking, so I’m on appetizer duty. Well, and I’m cooking a glazed ham and homemade mac n cheese, too. My apps are easy: garlic/chile marinated kalamata olives, baked bacon-wrapped dates stuffed with blue cheese and almonds, and a crab/shrimp cream cheese ball topped with homemade cocktail sauce. Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

    Happy Thanksgiving to your family…I’m so thankful you’ve all come into my life. What a brighter life it is as a result.

  2. heatherinparadise
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 15:42:24

    Glazed ham: FAIL…apparently they are only sold in Mexico around Christmas time. The butcher looked at me like I had three heads when I inquired where all the hams were. Apparently only rich people can afford to eat a big ham more than once a year. So I made three pork roasts instead, which hardly got touched so my fridge is chock full of pork.

  3. charmarie221
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 21:12:25

    I’m trying to imagine your dessert… is it kind of frothy looking, with pecans in it, rolled up with a filling and cut into circles like a jelly roll?

    I’m such a lazy chef, I hardly ever try anything adventuresom… Heather’s easy peasy has me thinking, “Holy crap!”

  4. Mary in Atl
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 23:25:52

    Char,

    You got it. It’s frothy-pecany-jellyroll-delish.

    Heather,

    I’m sure your appetizers made up for the pork.

  5. Mary in Atl
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 23:26:36

    Uh…I have no idea why I am now Mary in Atl.

    I am Daddy J.

    I think.

    Now I’m all freaked.

  6. thisbumpyjourney
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 12:27:19

    That’s pretty funny, Daddy J. You don’t *look* like a Mary.

    The pecan roll is, I guess, like a very thin sponge cake with minced pecans instead of flour, rolled up with the whipped cream and sliced, so the slices look a pretty and spiral. It’s one of those deceptively light tasting desserts that is actually pretty rich. It was magnificent.

    I’m about to have a leftover pumpkin tart with Reddi Whip and coffee for breakfast. Ahhh…

  7. charmarie221
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 16:53:22

    Thanks, Mary, you’ve been most helpful!

    I might try that then, bumpy… is it complicated? I hesitate on the rolling things because mine always list one way or the other and part of the appeal of those dishes is the presentation… gah, you should have seen my pecan breakfast rolls on Thanksgiving… well, NO, you shouldn’t have….

Leave a comment