the day before

We meet the potential birthparents, both of them, tomorrow.  Do I even need to say that I had a few anxiety dreams last night and gave up on sleep pretty early?  Or that I’m kind of tired of people asking if I’m nervous/grateful/thrilled to meet them?  (Um… yes?)

Rockinrolla was such a sweetheart yesterday.  He really wanted to go rollerskating, like, PAINFULLY badly, and was being so cute that he talked me into taking him, even though I was exhausted and harried with stuff to do this weekend.  Daddy J (having lived through foul Mama Jamz moods brought on by over-scheduling) insisted that we not go.  So, instead, Rockinrolla and I went out and ran errands.

I got a deluxe manicure at the place by the Walmart (pretty good, though I have bubbles in the polish and there was no paraffin dip, dammit) so Rockinrolla had his first nail salon experience, complete with fumes and girlchat.

(You’re thinking, Manicure over rollerskating?  The insanity!  But I couldn’t deal with my shaggy cuticles and am being sort of obsessive about my appearance for the birthmother.)

(I hear you sniggering, Daddy J.  Yes I did say “sort of.”)

Anyway.  Rockinrolla is a great errand buddy and, it turns out, manicure chat friend.  We bought some stuff at Dollar Tree (party plates for the Fishmaster’s party and cards and stuff for my cancer patient) and I went by Sally Beauty.  I LOVE Sally Beauty.  They’re so frickin’ helpful.  I wanted new foundation, a moisturizing mask, and face cream, and the girl there set me right up.  I think she saw that dangerous glint of OCD beauty regimen in my eye.

(***edited to add: NO, I am not a base-face.  I like to have some liquid foundation on hand and mix a few drops of it with water in my palm so it goes on super-thinly, and then powder on top.  Sometimes, um, when under stress, I tend to break out a little.  *Ahem*.  I finally ran out of the stuff-in-a-pump I got after the house burned.)

This morning we’re having a birthday breakfast for the Fishmaster.  On the menu: PIllsbury cinnamon rolls, purple seedless grapes, maple flavored sausage, and juice/cocoa/coffee.  Grandma L is bringing a coffee cake, so I’ll plunk candles in that.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary in Atl
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 01:44:38

    Relax, take a deep breath ( or 20) . Birthparents will be more nervous than you & Daddy J are. It sounds like you have performed the rituals that build our confidence but others seldom notice. She picked your family to be her baby’s forever family- proves right there how smart she is. Those of us who have been on the sidelines in this journey could tell her- how much Rainbow will be loved & what wonderful clan he is coming into.

  2. Jackie
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 02:53:34

    You & Daddy J will do amazingly well. I won’t tell you to relax, cuz I know you won’t. Try & breathe & enjoy the moments with them though.

  3. charmarie221
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 03:27:27

    Good luck, happy trails and all that positive stuff. And happy birthday to the Fishmaster! Seedless is the only way to go…..

  4. skye
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 13:07:52

    excited, excited EXCITED for you!

  5. Trackback: expression « love, loss, and rainbows

Leave a Reply

