counting the days

Not ’til Christmas, exactly, but ’til the boys get out of school for Christmas break.  I’m bored and tired and this big ol’ house is awfully quiet.

****sigh****

Pathetic, I know.

I think I can kind of blame the domperidone I’m taking so that I can breastfeed Rainbow.  Apparently it can make one sleepy.  Also, wet and cold weather makes me not want to go anywhere.  All I know is I just want to eat comfort food and napitate in front of the fire.   My big accomplishments for the day so far are waxing my legs, eating the same leftover pasta for breakfast and lunch, and doing a couple of hours of work.

I’m trying to kick in and get my assignment done, though, so that when the kids do get off from school, I won’t be crabbily working in my bathroom vanity/office while they have friends over.

Also: counting the days ’til Rainbow gets here.  There seems to be a very big window with lots of room for something to go wrong until we bring him home.  I’ll be so glad when I can write that HE’S HERE, HE’S HOME, HE’S OURS. 

That’ll be sometime in mid-March, most likely.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sweetsalty kate
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 20:35:09

    Domperidone is fantastic, I’ve taken it a few times… but I didn’t know you can use it to kickstart lactation without the physical inclination already being there – that’s amazing! What a happy, happy thing!

  2. Daddy J
    Dec 11, 2008 @ 17:23:57

    Milky, milky, milky…

  3. charmarie221
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 16:11:01

    not to get too personal, but can you tell if it’s making milk? or colostrum? I’m such an advocate, I really hope this works for you!

  4. kag
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 17:13:12

    Do you need me to fedex the breastpump down? Or can it wait a week or two until the next time someone heads between Ktown and yourtown?

  5. thisbumpyjourney
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 17:21:26

    It’s totally working. If I do a little boob massage (a la a breast self-exam) and then manually express, I can always get colostrum, and usually shoot myself in the eye with a milk squirt. So I’m feeling very optimistic that this will work.

    I don’t start pumping until the month before, so there’s no rush Katie. I am SO excited about the fancy breastpump you’ve offered to lend me. I hated so much the others I’ve used, but I think they were in the cheap range, so hopefully this one will be tons better. I also need to get a supplemental nursing system, which is a kind of bizarre and intimidating piece of apparatus, but also totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

