perfect Sunday morning

Daddy J is off with his cousin to see a football game in Houston, the Fishmaster is with Grandma MJ, and it’s Rockinrolla and I minding the fort.

He is such a delight.  Just a sweetie-pie in every way.   I don’t think I was anywhere near that enjoyable when I was eleven.  We had spaghetti and watched Pirates of the Caribbean last night, and this morning woke up and watched Beauty Shop.  (Kind of silly, but pleasant enough.  Did you know Kevin Bacon was in that movie TOO?)

Grandma MJ is bringing the Fishmaster back at around lunchtime, and then we’ll do I-don’t-know-what this afternoon.  Hm.  A long walk down to the creek, perhaps?  I haven’t been in awhile; maybe a longish walk in the cold with the boys would be nice.

Rockinrolla is upstairs learning how to play “Rock n’ Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution” on the guitar, and I’m making potatoes and soy chorizo for breakfast.  It’s awesome.  I’ll share.

Potatoes with Soy Chorizo

Peel potatoes (I do three medium ones for two people) and chop into pretty small pieces.  Slice a few baby carrots thinly.  Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and coat with spray oil.  Toss potatoes and carrots in olive oil and spread in pan. 

Bake at 350 til on the firm side of tender.

Heat more olive oil in large sautee pan.  Add one chopped onion and half a package of soy chorizo, and cook with potatoes and carrots. 

When potatoes are nice and tender, season with salt and pepper, top with cheese, and serve with ketchup.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debra
    Dec 15, 2008 @ 19:20:29

    This is off-topic, but does your family still use the Wii program? We are thinking about getting Wii Fit, but I’m not sure we would use it and stick with it.

  2. thisbumpyjourney
    Dec 15, 2008 @ 20:40:18

    We don’t use ours a whole lot, really. Grown-ups seem to like it more than kids. It’s a very cool machine, though. They (the kids) DO love guitar hero (we have it on the PS2) and the whole rock band setup looks pretty fun. I think the Wii Fit looks cool, too, and I could certainly use the exercise, but I don’t know whether I’d stick with it either.

  3. Debra
    Dec 15, 2008 @ 20:59:20

    Thanks for your input! I was loyal to exercise videos for a long time, so maybe I would stick to this??? I’m impressed that Wii Fit shows you if your body is properly aligned or not.

Leave a Reply

