Birth verses

So, I came across a mention of a site that has matched your birthdate with a bible verse, and was all, huh.  Like, kudos to them for this great marketing idea in the Christian world – think of all the magnets, plaques, t-shirts and whatnot they could sell with birth verses on them!

I think how it works is this: there are 66 books in the Bible, so they have a pool to choose from.  They look at the various verses that match up your birth month as chapter and birth date as verse, then toss out the losers, like Abadiah begat Abladiah and Martha got all pissy when she had to scrub the floor and Angry horses of doom breathed fire and smote all that was living.  You know, the ones that wouldn’t be all that inspiring.  They pick the best of the reasonable-sounding ones, and declare that your birth verse.

So, huh.  I hesitated to even click on it, because I sort of view the Bible as, like, a Declaration of Independence or a Bill of Rights.  Like, a wonderful document that was created by committee.  I’m not saying the committee members were unintelligent or uninspired, but they were human, after all.  There had to be arguments about what got included and what got left out of the final package, right?

(Fine, Ringo, FINE.  We’ll put in “Yellow Submarine.”)

And I just can’t even have a conversation with people that get all Yew better change yer ways becuz scripture sez whut yer doing is WRAWWWNG and yew better stop fore you get smote and sent to fie-ree HAYELLLL!!

I find that those people are best avoided.

Anyhoo.

I found the link to the birth verse site while I was still in Internet goof-off breakfast/coffee mode, and figured, what the hey.  It’s got to be more illuminating than oceangram, right?

I looked up my birth verse first, which was something about serving the Lord with zeal and energy.  Which probably means that I should get off my ass and quit moaning and fretting and do some Good Works already.  Which, yeah.  I hear you, God.

Then I looked Ward’s up, which was a little more on point:

John 10:28 NIV
I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand.

***sigh***

I know I’ve said and thought that he was snatched out of my hands before, so this caught my breath.  And, you know, is pretty spot on.

So, if you feel like it, look up your birth verse and share.  Does it fit at all, or did you get the one about Jesus bending down to tie his shoes?

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debra
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 17:19:53

    That’s really interesting about Wardie’s verse.

    I’ve been having this Tom Waits lyric in my head since I found your new blog:
    “Go out to the meadow
    The hills are agreen
    Sing me a rainbow
    Steal me a dream”

  2. Daddy J
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 17:38:36

    1 Corinthians 2:9 NIV
    However, as it is written: No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him

  3. Camille
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 20:19:22

    I like mine…it seems fairly inspirational:
    Colossians 3:10 NIV
    …put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator.

    But Cy’s, on the other hand, is more like the Jesus bending down business:
    John 11:11 NIV
    After he had said this, he went on to tell them, “Our friend Lazarus has fallen asleep; but I am going there to wake him up.”

    🙂

  4. charmarie221
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 22:33:42

    mine’s fairly generic:

    Acts 2:21 NIV
    And everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved’

    and I went through the whole family before I realized that the verse is actually your birthday… I’m Feb 21st and my verse number is 2:21… I’m a little slow….

  5. Mama Jamz
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 23:36:46

    Those are beautiful lyrics, Debra. I’m not familiar with that song – I’ll have to find it and listen. Those lyrics remind me of our wedding, song, too – Van Morrison’s “Warm Love.”

    (Oh, man, I hope we get to bring home a baby this spring…)

    I like yours, Daddy J. I think it fits you.

    Camille, yours is great. And Cy’s is a hoot. Did he wake you up a lot at night as a baby by any chance? 😉

    Yours is pretty generic, Char, but it’s better than little Cy’s, anyway.

  6. charmarie221
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 01:34:16

    even though you SAID that in your blog… I read it wrong…

  7. Daddy J
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 17:59:44

    Oh, BTW, Baby, that Ringo line was funny. Nice job.

  8. kag
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 19:26:17

    “Jesus wept.”

    Heh 😉

  9. Erin
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 17:06:36

    Great find, Julie! Ward’s is the perfect Hello from Heaven, isn’t it? Here’s mine. I suppose I should be more inspired but, meh. It would have been fun for my cousin Daniel.

    Daniel 6:27 NIV
    He rescues and he saves; he performs signs and wonders in the heavens and on the earth. He has rescued Daniel from the power of the lions.”

    I’ll be in Nashville/Franklin over the holidays (Dec 23rd to Jan 3) so maybe we can steal a lunch on one of the days when things aren’t so crazy.

  10. thisbumpyjourney
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 16:52:07

    That sounds great, Erin. We go on the 29th to see the birthmom again, but we should be able to get in a lunch sometime after Christmas. It would be nice to meet you in person. 🙂

  11. Ruth
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 14:50:07

    Mine happens to be a verse I refer to often 🙂

    Matthew 6:25 NIV
    Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes?

  12. Mama Jamz
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 15:14:25

    That is a nice one, Ruth. Happy coincidence that it’s one you like, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

