nursery prep, part 1

Just placed an order to freshen up the nursery for Rainbow. It’s already a jungle, junglified for Wardie when we built the house. It has a baby chimpanzee hanging from a vine, a big elephant, palm tree, toucan, macaw, and long vine with snake. Very cute.

However, I wanted to freshen it up and make it newish for Rainbow. You know, his room. Also, the palm tree has decided to get peely on me, and looks kind of bad. So, I’m going to get rid of the palm tree and add a different tree, and also tree frogs, butterflies, and plenty of clouds, all peel-and-stick items from here. In theory, these are “removable,” so hopefully the old palm tree will peel right off and not take the paint with it.

I’m excited, and will post pics when it’s ready. I think I’ll buy silk flower swags with something that will pass for jungle flowers and affix those to top of the fabric roman blinds. Bedding needs to be addressed, too, along with acquiring a crib and moving the playhouse out of the nursery.

🙂

****edited to add: The old palm tree is NOT, in fact, peeling right off. It’s stuck hard, and takes the paint with it. I just tried taking a hair dryer to it, with limited success. I could peel a bit of it off, and then a big ol’ chunk of paint came off. Like, down to the drywall. Is there a product at Lowe’s for this? It’s different from wallpaper in that is plasticky vinyl, not paper, so I’m not sure wallpaper removing stuff would work. I do still have the paint used in the room;will it be all scruffy looking if I peel it off down to the grayish drywall and then paint on top?

Any and all input welcome here…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. K5
    Jan 04, 2009 @ 22:44:21

    you may need to mud and sand the wall after the palm tree comes off so that the wall will be even and smooth when you repaint it.

  2. Jackie
    Jan 04, 2009 @ 23:29:34

    when taking wallpaper of I’ve soaked it with Fantastik first, it softens up the glue, not sure if it would work on that.

  3. thisbumpyjourney
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 14:38:49

    I’ll give some window cleaner a shot, Jackie, and I also bought drywall mud, spatulas, sandpaper, and a paintbrush at Lowe’s yesterday. Woo hoo.

Leave a comment