wisdom nugget for the day

It’s easier to put it on than to take it off.

Applies to so many things, no? Clearly, pounds of fat, but also clothing and jewelry…

I am almost fully healed from my encounter with a too-tight ring this weekend. It was AWFUL.

Stupidly, and after a couple of glasses of wine, I insisted on jamming on a ring that was a bit snug because I liked it with my outfit. It’s a wide, cuff-type ring.

Ahem.

Noting immediately that it was a bit hard to force it on, I ignored the warning bells and went to hitch a ride to Daddy J’s band performance. la la la la la…

And woke up the next morning with a very swollen, slightly reddish finger and a firmly stuck ring. That m-f’er wouldn’t even slide up to my knuckle; it wouldn’t slide At All.

After listening to me whine for awhile, Daddy J took charge and gave me a bowl of ice water to soak my finger in (ouch) and then wrapped tape around it to try to reduce the swelling. He then coated it with Windex (these are all tips we found online) and pulled.

And pulled.

And pulled and twisted.

And pulled.

And finally, over my protests (It hurts! It hurts! Stop! It hurts TOO MUCH!) got the damn thing off, only tearing a tiny bit of skin. Poor friend Amy, who had spent the night, was disturbed and had to move away from us during this rather lengthy procedure. She may be permanently scarred.

Which reminds me of the time I was shopping with Nicole and tried on a cute little fancy *non-stretchy* tank top. It was a size 1, but it didn’t look all that small, and who’s even heard of a size 1? I thought it was some kooky designer sizing where 1-2-3 = S-M-L. Don’t they do that sometimes?

Anyhoo, it was ridiculous. I got it onto my body, but that sucker did not want to come off. I got it back up to my upper arms, covering my face, and was stuck and had to call Nicole for help.

So, tack that on to my list of resolutions: Do not cram any part of my body into any item that is clearly too small.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daddy J
    Jan 05, 2009 @ 15:51:29

    For the record, the Windex did not work. I used dish soap.

  2. camille
    Jan 05, 2009 @ 16:10:58

    Hey, Mama Jamz, will you shoot me an email when you get a chance? I’ve got a question for you off-line and I’m at work and can’t find your email addy. Thanks a million!

  3. charmarie221
    Jan 05, 2009 @ 18:26:53

    vaseline has worked for me in the past… although with the last line of that blog, it sounds, uh… well, never mind…..

  4. thisbumpyjourney
    Jan 05, 2009 @ 18:33:52

    ha, ha, ha, ha, haaaaa…

    You got me, Char. :o)

Leave a Reply

