whew

Our friend Amy mentioned Freakonomics and suggested it as good reading. I’d heard of it, but didn’t really know what it was about. Apparently these people are really good at predicting social patterns based on various criteria.

Anyway, I checked the baby name predictions out and – whew – Rainbows name is not on the list.

The long version of Rockinrolla’s name is on there, but otherwise our family’s names aren’t on their lists at all. And not a Kaylee or Cayleigh or Kristen to be found…

I like Maya a lot, though it seems fairly ethnic, no? Like, Azteca might not be the thing for a white girl from the States. But it’s really pretty. Maybe Maya will enter the mainstream, like Scott doesn’t necessarily imply anymore that the boy has Scottish heritage, I don’t think. Or is it indicative of the growing Hispanic population? Waverly and Aviva (sorry, Waverlies and Avivas out there) are nice, yet sound like paper towel brands. Aldo… hm… not feeling it. I’m seeing both “Where’s Waldo?” and a certain brand of canned dog food.

Baby naming is funny, how we all have our own preferences and positive and negative connotations. Makes it all a nice, colorful salad, doncha think?

Got any favorite baby names to share, if you were having a baby today? Or deep naming dislikes?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 16:50:00

    I love the name Isabella, it kinda rolls of your tongue, I have an Evan & a Connor, I like those too!!! 😀

  2. heatherinparadise
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 17:14:53

    Girls: Willa June, Harper, Stevie

    Boys: Dashiell, Andersen, August (I think Augie is so cute)

    That’s all I can think of right now. My family is Norwegian and “Thorleif” is a family name, but I think I’d have to put my kid in the weight room early in his life if I were to name him something like “Thor.”

  3. thisbumpyjourney
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 21:56:59

    I like Isabella, too, Jackie. For a long time I wanted a Belle or a Bell for a daughter. And Evan and Connor are magnificent. 🙂

    I like June and Stevie a lot, Heather. My best friend in elementary school’s mother was named June and it has great connotations for me.

    Thorleif is awesome. AWESOME. I’ve thought about Leif before for us… hmm…

  4. kag
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 20:50:03

    Georgia, Clara or Anabelle for a girl (these are the only three that I actually really love that Jon also agrees to)

    Samuel, Anderson or maybe Jacob (Jake) for a boy

  5. Mama Jamz
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 21:59:05

    I love Georgia… I had an Aunt George who, for *many* years, confused me with her name, but when I figured out what it was short for, I thought it was awesome. (She is married to Uncle Wash, short for Washburn. So, Aunt George and Uncle Wash = TOTAL mystification on my part.)

    I also like Jacob, and Jake especially…

  6. Grandma L
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 19:49:26

    I like either Corina or Maude for a girl’s name. I can’t think of a boy’s name, they’ve all been taken in my family.

  7. Daddy J
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 21:27:32

    I still like Ramtop. Oh, well. Maybe next time.

  8. thisbumpyjourney
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 23:09:53

    I like Corina, too. For awhile I was thinking about a Coral.

    Daddy J, that’s just rude. I know the middle name that goes after Ramtop…

Leave a Reply

