I am a cow.

An ungrateful cow, that is.

So, I went to a private college on a full merit scholarship. Which, bonus, obviously, for both my parents and me. You’d think I would happily tithe away to them when they send me fundraising letters. They are BIG into the publications asking for cash, and I am BIG into chucking said publications into the trash.

I find it hard to donate to an expensive private college when there are other things we donate to that are much closer to my heart (Wardie’s memorial, Daddy J’s and my high school, a mission in Africa, Habitat for Humanity…). I feel like I’d much rather have a relatively significant impact on things I really love than a neglible impact on a slew of different things.

Also, I don’t want to deal with writing eleventy-three checks.

(Ah! not only an ungrateful cow, but a LAZY one.)

I’m doing better at saying No to phone call solicitations, too. Like, I totally agree that various diseases need cures and that various victims need help, but I can’t send money to every worthwhile cause out there.

(Ungrateful, lazy, FLIPPANT cow.)

Though I usually am pretty generous with the bell ringers at Christmas time. I feel hideously spoiled when shopping for the Fishmaster and Rockinrolla and don’t mind plunking a few bucks in the red bucket.

How about you? Do you spread it around or give to just your favorite causes? Or do you keep it all to yourself?

Or do I just need to hush and keep my checkbook handy and my mouth shut?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 00:43:45

    I take a certain amount each cheque & when asked or if I just want to, we donate to stuff & also with our business, we are asked constantly, tournaments etc. We usually donate some to those, a token amount but still some to help them out. I will donate more to certain things, like a friend of ours who needs a liver transplant got more than say the figure skating competition that’s going on. To me, you donate to what is super important to you, not who thinks you should. Our business ones are more advertising as well as helping with expenses but it still helps, our kids’ teams often are the recipients.

  2. thisbumpyjourney
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 14:49:27

    That’s great, Jackie. I totally agree. I’m about to have to go solicit for auction donations for the habitat ball, which is a total drag, especially after Christmas sales and with the economy the way it is. I just hate to even bring it up to store owners.

  3. Elizabeth
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 18:14:46

    I’m sorry this isn’t more timely… I had read your blog back birth parents (probably before Thanksgiving) and saw on Katie’s blog (which I lurk at everynow and then) that Rainbow is on his way! (Congrats!) But this blog is about something close to my heart… fundraising. I did fundraising in college for my small private college where I was on full tuition scholarship, and while i absolutely understand that it seems like giving even $5 isn’t doing much, its putting money back in to those scholarship funds so that someone else can get the experience you did. It sounds crazy (and especially with a new baby in your house) but it is important to schools to give back, and it helps their ratings because if alumni give back then they had to like it right?

    Sorry for the soap box… you got me on a type-y day. CONGRATS AGAIN!!!!!

  4. Elizabeth
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 18:17:25

    In that first line… I meant “pre-birth parents”

Leave a Reply

