milky haze

The cold was our pride, the snow was our beauty. It fell and fell, lacing day and night together in a milky haze, making everything quieter as it fell, so that winter seemed to partake of religion in a way no other season did, hushed, solemn.

~~~~~Patricia Hampl, 1981

NOT that we’ve been getting any impressive amounts of snow around here.  We’d love a nice heavy snow around here, but I’m in a different sort of milky haze.

The pumping totally sucks.
(Sorry – I could NOT resist that.)

But, yeah, I HATE pumping. At this point, following Lenore’s protocol, I have stopped with the birth control pills and started with the pumping, continuing the Domperidone (don’t EVEN ASK what a drag it was ordering from an online pharmacy – cheaper, yes, but the meds were a week late and I had to scramble to find some for the interim days) and adding the herbs blessed thistle and foengreek.

And am getting a whopping 1/8 teaspoon or so with each pumping.

***smacks forehead loudly***

AND YET I will persevere. I ordered a supplemental nursing system from Medela. You poke the soft, thin tube into baby’s mouth while he’s nursing and then adjust the flow, so, as he nurses, he’s getting formula or whatever from the bottle. And, hopefully, your milk supply increases as you go.

Which leads me to this question:

What’s the best formula? Presuming no allergies or special dietary needs?

Our boys were nursed exclusively, except when they were babysat, when they got whatever formula was free or I had a coupon for. Taste or nipple confusion were never an issue, and I didn’t really research formula because they had it so rarely. But Rainbow will have a lot of formula, at least at the beginning. I bought some Dr. Brown’s bottles that claim they reduce colic, which sounded good.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gRANDMA L
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 19:51:24

    If you are producing any milk, you are going to be able to breast feed. An eighth, a fourth, a plentiful of milk. I’m proud of you.

  2. thisbumpyjourney
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 21:59:14

    Thanks, Grandma L. I’m very hopeful that it will work out really well. I can’t wait…

  3. Daddy J
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 00:25:37

    Grandma L., wow that is SO weird! My mom’s first name starts with L.! Small world.

  4. charmarie221
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 21:57:07

    are you supposed to assume he needs a supplement right away or will you have him nurse exclusively the first day or two and see how much you produce before supplementing? because what comes out of a pump is not always indicative of what is actually being produced by your body… a baby’s mouth is much more efficient at emptying a breast, thus signalling your body to create more milk… (sorry, you know all this, you nursed!) I was just wondering what the thought process was here… since supplementing usually results in less breastmilk being made….

  5. thisbumpyjourney
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 01:01:29

    Well, my general plan is this – to nurse him for a five minutes or so on each side with no supplement, and then add the SNS for another session on each breast. So my body gets a chance to respond with the first go, and then his tummy gets for sure full with the second go. And my breasts are stimulated to produce more the whole time.

    I am hopeful that my milk will come in 100%, but I want to be prepared for a total flop, you know? My supply does seem to be increasing, though; I bet I’m up to 3/4 teaspoon from each pumping now.

    I bought the fanciest looking formula to have on hand: Nestle Good Start Supreme with iron and Natural Cultures, with Comfort Proteins for Easy Digestion! DHA and ARA! Whatever they are!!

  6. Auntie Sue
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 19:12:05

    So, Grandma L, how excited are you getting? How many outfits have you bought – cute little boy stuff? Come visit.

  7. kag
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 14:17:14

    Boy do I hate the pumping, too. You have my great admiration for all you are doing to be able to nurse Newbaby. I’m not sure I could do it.

    As for formula, the Dr Sears book and his website has a lot of great info on choosing and using formula if you have to. I trust his perspective.

  8. Trackback: adoptive breastfeeding « love, loss, and rainbows

Leave a Reply

