interior conversation the eleventy-fourth

The background: Daddy J has been to a real, live general practitioner of his own a couple of times, and has had big ol’ thorough checkups. He recently got his happy report on cholesterol and such, so, go Daddy J.

I, on the other hand, have never had a doctor of my own since I was a kid. An OB/GYN, sure, but other needs go to the urgent care center. (Bad, bad, Mama Jamz.) I agree, though, that a general practioner who knows you and your body is a great thing to have, and he was kind enough to give me a nudge by actually making my appointment for me with a nice doctor who actually takes our insurance. (Applause for Daddy J.)

I didn’t realize, though, until this morning, that I seem to have developed some Doctor-Phobic Issues over the last few years.

Go figure.

Self: All righty then! This’ll be GREAT! We can brag to Daddy J about how low our cholesterol is after a year of mostly-veganism, and won’t it be fun to get a gold star for being so healthy! Whee!

Body: I KNOW you don’t think I’m going to a frickin’ doctor. We BOTH know what doctors do: NOTHING GOOD. Ain’t happening.

Self: (chuckling in a condescending manner) Now, now, Body. It’ll be fine. And it will be good to know if you’re actually anemic, and that’s why you have zero pep, or if it’s just the lack of exercise and milky hormones  and adoption anxiety doing it to you. Also, both Grandma MJ AND her mother have osteoperosis, and you don’t want to develop that, do you?

Body: Talk all you want, Missy. I ain’t going.

Self: I beg to differ. Daddy J made the appointment, and we’re going out to lunch after. Yes indeed we are going.

Body: (rolling eyes in terror, like a horse being led into a barn full of screaming bottle rockets and hissing snakes)  OH NO WE AIN’T!!  How ’bout some GI distress, bee-yotch!!  How’s that strike you?  I can do this ALL DAY!!!

Self: You know, that’s just childish. Also kind of a bonus: it’ll make me weigh less on the evil doctor scales. Have at it, you brat.  Then we’re GOING.

~~~~~~~

Anyhoo, after the morning drama, it was a very good visit. It was a nurse practitioner that I saw, and she was very thorough with the questioning and the vital signs and such.

I’ve already had the bone density exam (not such a big deal at all, but it was kind of creepy feeling the tingly energy coursing through my abodomen as they did it. I kind of feel microwaved.  It can’t be good for you.)  In a couple of days, I’ll go back for my fasting blood work (whee! skipping breakfast AND bloodletting!!) and I think we’re going to do a sleep study at the hospital before Rainbow comes.

Which sounds terribly dramatic, but the nurse practitioner made it sound like no biggie. I described my nightly snoring, and Daddy J having to wake me and ask me to turn over all the time, and my occasional waking myself with a big gasping snort, and she said it kind of sounded like apnea. Which is a Bad Thing that can lead to many bad things, including fatigue. (ba da bing!)

She said the treatments might include removing my tonsils or adenoids, or sleeping with some Darth Vader thing on my head that forces oxygen into my body. (Self and Body are in agreement about the forced air device: Nuh-uh. They’d rather be sleepy.) I asked if we could just go ahead and remove my adenoids (which she said are enlarged) and she said that, since that’s a surgery, it requires an actual “Medical Reason” and not just a desire to have them out in order for insurance to pay for it.  I bet they’re the culprit, though, since I often feel like something is “falling back” in the back of my throat as I fall asleep, and then the snoring commences.  Also, the surgery is outpatient and she said recovery is quick, which sounds kind of less traumatic than a supervised sleepover in the hospital IMHO…

What an adventure!  I can hardly wait: sleeping alone in a hospital bed with stuff hooked up to me while  people listen to my snoring!

However: it might end up with better nights’ sleep for both me and Daddy J, and more daytime pep, so is totally worth it.

(Where’s my Big Girl Gold Star?)

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thisbumpyjourney
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 00:42:52

    XOXOX

  2. thisbumpyjourney
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 00:57:42

    That was Daddy J, by the way – I didn’t hug and kiss myself… ;o)

  3. charmarie221
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 05:49:42

    well you should have as you deserve it!! I’m way older than you and I haven’t done any of those doctory things either… I’m even late for the annual one that I usually go make it to… and the boob squisher… good luck with the sleep test… Kaiden (grandbaby) just had her adenoids taken out today and she was home within hours….

  4. thisbumpyjourney
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 13:39:50

    So why did Kaiden get hers out, Char? Was it an infection? Poor baby. I’ve never had the boob squisher – I’ll have to ask her about that. She brought it up, and I think she said they like to start those at 35. They sound painful.

  5. Jackie
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 23:05:01

    Sleep apnea is an extremely serious matter. If it’s bad enough, it can affect your heart. Also very dangerous when driving as you can tend to nod off. My brother had one of the worst cases they’d ever seen (he actually quit breathing for quite a few seconds at a time). If you were to need the Darth Vader mask, it’s not noisy, apparently fairly comfortable when you get used to it. Makes it a tad hard to snuggle & kiss but hey, then you won’t be sleeping anyway. 😀

  6. ellen
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 21:57:39

    I never went to a regular doctor either, until this year. Just the annual (more or less) ob/gyn visits. But I actually had to find a GP and get a physical for our adoption home study. I wonder if that’s one of those things where the home study requirements vary from state to state, or whether it’s different for international adoptions than for domestic.

    Anyway, good for you, taking care of yourself. You’re going to need all the energy you can muster when Rainbow arrives!

  7. charmarie221
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 00:52:41

    she got tubes put in her ears for chronic ear infections and they said if her adenoids were enlarged, they’d take those out as well… she’s the stuffiest baby EVER… snorts all the time… we had her overnight a couple of weeks ago and the snorting, snoring, coughing, wheezing was terrible… so I hope this helps her…

    the boob squisher isn’t awful, mostly just pinchy…and awkward… for smaller gals like me, anyway…

    you’re not even 35? gah, ya baby!

  8. thisbumpyjourney
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 02:20:15

    I would be thrilled to get rid of the snoring, too, Jackie, and to find out if my sleep issues are serious. My friend C just told me that she took OTC heartburn medicine that solved her snoring; something about an inflamed esophagus that can present no symptoms other than snoring. Hmmm… If they’re going to do a sleep study on me, we need to get right on it, is all *I* know, because I’m not going to want to spend the night apart from Rainbow once he gets here. Which is in… about THREE WEEKS??!!

    We had to get physicals for the homestudy, too, ellen, but my OB did mine, and I didn’t get my cholesterol checked. I guess that’s the main thing; he did check me for anemia. I’ve *never* had such a thorough interview about lifestyle, eating and exercise habits, etc. as I did earlier this week, though. It was great. And the bone density test results will be good to see. I’m really happy about a doctor (well, a nurse practitioner) knowing me so well.

    Poor little baby, Char. I hope she’s all better.

    And yes indeed, I’m over 35. Turned 36 in December.

Leave a Reply

