total bliss

He’s here, and he’s magnificent.

He was a very big boy – a whopping 9 lbs. 1.3 oz.  The birth was a regular, relatively easily delivery for F.  We were so glad she didn’t have to have a c-section, given the size of Rainbow.

dsc_0147

We got The Call on Wednesday night at about 10:00.  (The social worker had called a few times, but we missed her calls while watching American Idol.) F. had gone to the hospital to preregister, I think, and they examined her and told her she wasn’t going anywhere.  This baby is on his way.

Daddy J and I scrambled and got a flight out at 6:15 the next morning.  So, combine a 3:00 departure with starting packing at 10:30 and get a nice 2 hours of sleep for us.  Adrenalin, anyone?

We arrived safely and went to the hotel we’d pricelined, only to find that they hadn’t kept our reservation.  But the woman behind the counter said that we really needed to be at a residence hotel, and suggested one she used to work at.  She was right – this hotel is incredible.  We’re in a 2 BR, 2 BA apartment with living and dining room and kitchen.  It’s all pretty and new and beautifully landscaped, and cheaper even than the pricelined hotel.  Score.

We made it to the hospital and checked in on F. and J.  She was hurting and worn out by this time (around noon) and was super nice, but indicated that she and J. would like some space.  Daddy J and I adjourned to the waiting room.

At 1:00, J. said they were still waiting on the doctor to come check her again.

Waiting, waiting, waiting, not wanting to pester…

And at 3:12, Rainbow was born.

J. came to the waiting room.  Daddy J had gone to get the rental car; we’d thought she’d be pushing for awhile.  I caught up with the plastic bassinet cart holding Rainbow and followed them to the nursery.  J. went to be with F.

F., so thoughtful and caring and concerned about our bonding, signed the appropriate stuff so that we could be with Rainbow at all times in the nursery and I could nurse him.

dsc_0114

He didn’t much care for the Bath Part.

dsc_0118

But found that a tasty finger helped matters.

dsc_0130

The nurses, F. and J., the doctors, the social workers – everyone was so considerate and helpful with our bonding with Rainbow.  The hospital let me stay in a parent sleep room off of the NICU that wasn’t being used for parents of sick babies.  I was a little scared that it would be hard to sleep in there, since the only other time we’ve been in a room like that was when Wardie was fighting to stay a little longer at the hospital.  But it turned out that I was so frickin bone-weary that I think I could have leaned against a brick wall and slept.

The nurses called me every 3 hours to come nurse.  It’s going very well, I think.  We got lost and were 15 minutes late for his 8:00 feeding last night, so they gave him 2 oz. of formula right before we got there.  And last night at 3:00 and again just now he seemed starving still after nursing, so we supplemented with about an ounce of formula.  I used the supplemental nursing system, the Borg thing with the tubes, and it worked great.  I am super-optimistic that my milk will come in 100%, but til then plan to top him off with the SNS whenever he seems hungry after a first course on each side.

So, yeah, the sleep thing.  I spent two nights in the hospital, being woken every 3 hours and then nursing and cuddling for an hour. It’s been a low sleep last few nights.  Like, ridiculously low – a handful a night.  I am so excited about the prospect of sleeping for 3 hours at a time I can’t even tell you. 

However: enough with the whining – things are magnificent.  I got to do what is probably my favorite thing in the entire world this afternoon: nurse skin-to-skin with a diaper clad newborn and drift off for a together nap.

Because of minor legal bumps, Rainbow won’t be officially ours for another 10 days or so.  Right now, I think we are “guardians.” 

I think it’s going to happen though.  I really do.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debra
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 05:35:19

    He is beautiful and I am so happy for your family. This is a lovely story. Thank you for sharing. Many, many blessings and best wishes. And, I really admire the birth parents, too.

  2. charmarie221
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 05:37:52

    So beautiful! So exciting! and I’m SO glad the nursing thing seems to be working for you. I just love that you will get to share that with Rainbow.

    Sleep? Ha. You can sleep later. There will always be sleep.

    Here’s a big kiss from me right on top of that sweet smelling head.

  3. Meghan Cobble
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 13:28:10

    Wow. Julie. I feel so charged for you. Rainbow has no idea the wonderful blessing he has in you, James, Gray, Jack, and Ward. But he will. He will know love like no other.

    I am so happy for you…your family…for rainbow.

    God is good. I am so glad He is.

    Enjoy. This season in your life is now your “pot of gold.”

    Nurse away, sister! It will work!

  4. Jennifer Jones
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 14:15:32

    I am so happy for you and your family. Thanks for sharing! He is so beautiful and perfect. Wishing you all the best (and a little sleep!)

  5. Jackie
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 15:31:28

    That is soo amazing, I’m totally ecstatic for all of you!! And he is sooo precious!!

  6. skye
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 15:34:03

    Oh my! What a beautiful boy!!!!
    I am so excited for all of you!!!

  7. heatherinparadise
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 19:12:23

    I’m crying my eyeballs out. I love him, I love you, I love his birthparents. I hope they truly know what an amazing gift they have given him in choosing your family for him.

  8. Meghan
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 21:47:44

    Wow. Mama Jamz. I feel so charged for you. Rainbow has no idea the wonderful blessing he has in you, Daddy J, the Fishmaster, Rockinrolla, and Ward. But he will. He will know love like no other.

    I am so happy for you…your family…for rainbow. God is good. I am so glad He is. Enjoy. This season in your life is now your “pot of gold.” Nurse away, sister! It will work!

  9. sweetsalty kate
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 02:20:37

    love, love, just so much love for all of you. Beautifully done – that’s to you and to his birthparents. Just so much love all around.
    xo

  10. Cyndi
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 03:54:11

    Yay pictures! I’m so happy for you all & I hope I get to meet him in Jax this week…maybe Saturday before our flight?! He is adorable! 🙂

  11. kag
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 14:02:58

    He is such a handsome boy! I think he looks a good bit like Uncle Thomas as a newborn.

  12. Debbie
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 17:05:44

    What a beautiful boy!!!!!!Glad you and his birth parents love him enough to do this.

  13. ellen
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 17:46:20

    Oh my goodness, he’s beautiful! I am bawling. What an amazingly joyous thing!! Enjoy this magical time. Congratulations to all of you.

  14. Cheryl
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 19:09:30

    He is so incredibly sweet, I am thrilled for your entire family! Congratulations!!!!

  15. Erin
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 03:08:29

    Count me in with the bawling crowd! What a beautiful Rainbow. Cue “I Can See Clearly Now” … because that’s what’s playing in my head. Congratulations to you all. With love,

    Erin

  16. Trackback: mamapundit » Blog Archive » Don’t you need some happy news today?
  17. marta
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 13:53:58

    Wow! How beautiful. I just know you and your family through KAG’s blog but am really happy for you all! And how lucky&corageous you are to be nursing Rainbow!

    Love
    Marta from Lisbon

  18. Auntie Sue
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 13:58:44

    He does remind me of Thomas as a newborn. Oh my – he’s so beautiful. I cannot wait to hold him! Daddy J – I’ve ordered a little Titans outfit. A boy needs a Titans outfit.

  19. Launa
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 00:43:53

    CONGRATULATIONS! Great story. Beautiful baby.

  20. Kelli
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 17:43:47

    Mama Jamz & Daddy J –
    I am so happy for you! Congrats all around. . He is so sweet and what a blessing-thinking of and praying for you all.

  21. Trackback: the day before « love, loss, and rainbows

Leave a Reply

