riding a bicycle

So, yes, Rainbow is our fourth child, but Rockinrolla and the Fishmaster are 11 and 13, and Wardie would be 6 right now.  It’s been awhile since I’ve taken care of a little baby.  But it’s like riding a bicycle, right?

Me: Wow, this baby just stays up all night long.  Last night he was up from 2:00 to 6:00 am, and the night before it was just about as bad.

Friend K: You honestly don’t remember that about little babies?!  They tend to sleep during the day and keep you up all night.  That’s just what they do.

Me: Well,  I’m exhausted.

Friend K: Hmmm, are you swaddling him?

Me: Oh yeah, SWADDLING! (smacks forehead with palm) I’d forgotten about the swaddling.

Friend K: Are you trying to keep him stimulated during the daytime so he’s tired at night?

Me: Oh yeah, DAYTIME STIMULATION! (smacks forehead again) Forgot that one, too. 

Daddy J and I also rediscovered pacifiers.  We had a decidedly anti-pacifier stance with the three boys, mainly because I think they look gross, like those plastic doneness spikes on whole chickens.  And the colors and weird cartoony pictures on them lack appeal for me.  And I don’t like sweet little plump babies slurping away on them.  It’s a personal issue.

However, Rainbow is decidedly an oral fellow.  With the other boys, I just nursed when they wanted to be comforted orally, but I’m feeling like someone took a sandblaster to my bosom and have had enough of the endless-comfort-suckle already.  Enter the pacifier: he loves it.

The nursing continues to go pretty well.  I still haven’t had my milk come in with that dramatic engorgement thing, but he is getting milk.  I’ve been adding just about 3 oz. a day of formula with the SNS to top off his feedings when he still seems hungry.

Rainbow had his very first bath today (well, other than the one at the hospital and a quickie wipe down with dampened cloths the other day) and was so crazy cute.  We (in our hotel suite) stacked up the plastic bath mat on top of a pillow and topped that with a folded towel, and then covered him up to keep him warm.  He was so into it, cooing and opening his big eyes.

(side note: the eyes are doing the change-a-roo thing.  They looked deep turquoisey blue at the hospital, and are now usually a deep navy, but occasionally have golden brown glints in them.  I think we’re going to have ourselves a brown-eyed handsome man.)

We took our first stroll with the front pack today and he loved it.  Daddy J got to hold him in it for our Target/Whole Foods adventure day before yesterday, but this was my maiden voyage with him.  This hotel complex has a nice lagoony pond with a fountain and sidewalks around it, with a big wicker bench swing under a tree.  Rainbow and I got some fresh air and sunshine and swung for awhile, while the fountain splashed and spoiled ducks swam up and dabbled next to the shore.  It was as nice as it sounds.

I am loving the cuddling, the kisses, the soft wrinkly neck under his chin, his long chicken legs, his teeny little bum, his sweet baby sounds, his silly Mr. Magoo expressions, the wee little O his mouth makes when he’s fired up…  If I weren’t so pooped, I’d find more poetic words to describe how gorgeous and cuddly and perfect this baby is, but you’ll just have to take my word for it for now.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary in Atl
    Mar 04, 2009 @ 02:58:09

    You did just fine in the words department…..so very wonderful to be reading about this adventure in your lives. Keep posting for us please as you have time / waking moments.

  2. Debbie
    Mar 04, 2009 @ 20:03:28

    I can feel the love you have for Rainbow in your words, how touching.

  3. kag
    Mar 04, 2009 @ 21:06:00

    Try the magic swaddling blanket. I think that’s actually the brand name. Changed our life after Charlotte was born. Once we realized she loved the swaddle, we actually got some sleep

  4. clara
    Mar 04, 2009 @ 21:11:56

    I love hearing about Rainbow & your family!
    A teeny 2 cents: Skin to skin contact can help even more than swaddling & it can help with supply too. I’m sure you’re already doing it. A Moby wrap around the house can help for when he wakes up more & eats all the time:) Enjoy him!

  5. thisbumpyjourney
    Mar 04, 2009 @ 22:07:48

    He’s liking the swaddle pretty well, although I think it annoys him to have his arms constrained. He likes to be able to suck on his knuckles and will wrestle against the blanket if his arms are held in it. But he does sometimes startle himself. Hm.

    I can’t wait to get home where I have a few accessories already and room for more. I am thinking he’ll like the bouncy seat with vibrating-bum action a lot – he likes having his bum patted.

    The skin to skin is nice, Clara. We do get quite a bit of that. Is a Moby wrap a kind of swaddle? I think I’ve heard of it.

  6. clara
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 14:43:23

    The Moby is one of the cheaper baby carriers, completely wraps on & is easy to nurse in, so you can get stuff done and go on walk esp. when he gets in clingy moods 🙂
    http://quirkybaby.com/category_12/Moby-Wrap-Original.html

  7. Trackback: *headsmack* part infinity « love, loss, and rainbows

Leave a Reply

