forgot to mention

I just thought this was so great and wanted to share: Rainbow was labeled a “BUFA” baby in the nursery.  That stands for Baby Up For Adoption.  The idea is to not divulge the birthmother’s last name to us since this was an adoption situation.

Anyway, the very handsome and charming and friendly young hospital pediatrician introduced himself to us and said: I was a BUFA baby right here in this hospital.  I just thought you might want to know that; parents tend to think it’s pretty cool.

Yup.  🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. clara
    Mar 06, 2009 @ 22:47:06

    I thought this was really cool!

  2. elizabeth
    Mar 07, 2009 @ 01:38:31

    Hi! I linked to your blog through Katie’s on Strollerderby and have been following along quietly. This was so lovely, though, I had to post a comment!

    When I was in labor my partner went to get me a popsicle. Our nurse stopped her in the hallway to tell her that she had two moms, too, and had always had such a loving, full life. It meant the world to both of us!

    Don’t you think babies just bring out the best in people?

  3. thisbumpyjourney
    Mar 07, 2009 @ 03:40:39

    Wow, that’s great, Elizabeth. What a nice confirmation, huh? 🙂 I love stuff like that. For me, that falls into the coincidences-that-aren’t-coincidences category, a really sweet gift at the perfect time for you and your partner.

    And thanks, Clara. It really was cool. We forgot to tell F. when we saw her before she checked out of the hospital, but we are having dinner with them again before we leave and will tell them about it then. I know they will love to hear that little tidbit.

  4. Kelli
    Mar 07, 2009 @ 16:45:35

    How sweet-we had a pediatrician/coincidence/peaceful story when our Karley was born as well. You are doing a wonderful thing-I’m following your story along, too…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

