family

So, I was thinking this evening, as I held Rainbow and listened to Van Morrison’s more spiritual stuff with Daddy J, more about how we were all drawn together. Meant to be a family.

Not a declaration from a paternal God so much: I decree that this boy will be yours! And not so much that we are especially deserving or have XYZ to offer this baby.

But that we are family already; that we’ve been together before and will be again. Part of a soul group.

The concept isn’t complicated: as we’re reborn into different lives and circumstances, we cluster together with the same group of souls. So that a little girl and her great-grandma that feel a special bond might have been giggling sisters together last time around, and father and son the next. And the next-door neighbor who moved in and you feel an immediate connection to, and who is as-close-if-not-closer-than family for the rest of your life, was your beloved brother two hundred years ago.

Do you buy into any of that? (If not, please do share your thoughts, but try to refrain from being mean or condescending. New-agey types have feelings, too.) Are you more of a fundamentalist we-only-get-one-chance kind of person? Atheist? Totally unsure?

I’d never pretend to know all of the answers, but this paradigm feels good for me. I feel like Rainbow has joined us because it was prearranged by us and him during the in-between times. I do think we all end up reconnected with God anyway, so that these groupings are only temporary, and that as we get closer and closer to the source they will be different.

Right now, though, it seems that we’ve reunited with another piece of our group, and it feels very, very good.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary in Atl
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 17:36:52

    sad thought to this one- the opposite end of that could be those folks who never seem to connect to the family they are born in- maybe they were arch enemies in past life?
    I’m not sure I believe the past life concept, but I get glimpse of possible as in …we are matter, not created or destroyed only changes as it goes. I can see it that way but the I- was-Cleopatra- in my last life folks make it harder to take seriously.
    What I do believe is that your family has been waiting for Rainbow to be more complete. Not that he fills a void from your loss but that he completes the circle….so far. Maybe there is another baby – only God knows that one right now. Can’t wait to see the next chapters. Mare

  2. kag
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 12:56:12

    You should read up on Mormonism. Your take on all this is actually really, really close to theirs 🙂

  3. Debbie
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 14:07:12

    How lucky you ALL are to have such a wonderful family.

  4. Erin
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 01:39:29

    I feel much like you do, Julie. I got so excited at the news of any of my impending nieces/nephews, because “someone we love is coming back to us”. And I imagine that the ones who are gone say exactly the same thing when we come home.

  5. thisbumpyjourney
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 13:30:22

    I hear you, Mary, and I think that does happen. Another opportunity to see eye to eye or learn tolerance with a reversal of roles, maybe; another chance to be accepting of this other person. I like to think that a parent who couldn’t accept their child’s lifestyle in the past is the child this time around who is gay or somehow “different,” and is learning how that feels.

    Erin, I read something recently (dang, where was it?) that put it so nicely about death being birth into the next world, and your loved ones gathered around to see what you’ve learned and what you’ll be like this time, just like our families gather around new babies in this world. I think it was a Rumi poem; I’ll try to find it.

    Wow, you think I might be a mormon, kag? I’ll have to look into it. Me and Donny and Marie, huh? I thought they were fundamentalist Bible thumpers, but have never really researched them. Interesting.

Leave a Reply

