it’s Tuesday and all is well

Rainbow is still (surprise!) completely adorable and cuddly and amazing.  We’ve been going on walks in the front pack and having bottles outside in this glorious weather, and he’s introduced himself to a lot of friends and neighbors.

He is sleeping and eating like a pro. We switched to a doctor recommended formula (Similac advance) and now he is also pooping like a pro. 

(Hallelujah!)

The nursing.

**sigh**

The nursing.

He still will latch on and get some comfort and possibly a little milk, but dang, he loves to guzzle that formula on down. The SNS is just not conducive to nursing in public, in addition to being a pain to use and clean, so I’ve abandoned it. I can already tell that he’s nursing less vigorously, I’m sure because the bottle is easier to extract milk from.

Which makes me very sad if I let myself dwell on it.

However, he did sleep all night from about 10:00 to 6:00 with only nursing in between, so I guess he’s getting something from me, right? Today is my last dose day of domperidone (at 16 pills a day) and then I’m going to quit taking them and just hope my supply keeps going and magically increases further.

**sigh**

The nursing has accomplished its main goal, regardless: Rainbow knows who his mama is. And surely he’s gotten some good immuno-bio-ingredients, too, right? And that child is thriving. Lordy, but he’s healthy and beautiful.

I am inordinately proud of myself for actually ordering photo birth announcements and thank you notes. I have never, with three children, done birth announcements, and I am historically awful with the thank you notes. I don’t know exactly where this burst of correspondence energy came from, except that I guess this baby has been a long time coming and I like the idea of mailing photos of his handsome mug all over the place.

Howsabout some pics?

Here are a couple from our long hotel stay:
0042

0582

0881

And at home with Rockinrolla and the Fishmaster:

1791

**nom nom kissie smoochie**

1861

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leslie
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 16:16:31

    PLEASE don’t feel bad (sad is okay!) about the whole nursing/bottle thing. One day of breast milk is better than none, and assuredly he is still getting milk (and comfort, and closeness) any time you nurse him. But he has to grow, and as far as I have ever heard it is really rare for an adoptive mother to be able to nurse exclusively. As long as he and you are both enjoying nursing, I would continue. I had a weight gain issue with one of my babies and had to supplement. I was so scared she would stop nursing but eventually she got over the problem and continued to nurse (long after I would have liked her to stop!).

    The pictures are adorable, especially of him with his big brothers. Oh, he’s going to worship them!

  2. Mary Rae
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 17:29:17

    Hello! Unfortunately I had lost the new blog address a while ago. I was so happy to find it today and even more thrilled to see your fabulous news! Congratulations on your new addition. He is precious. I hope all is going well. I am going to have to spend some time reading through the posts now to get caught up! We just returned from Russia over the weekend. We met our new little guy last week. He is 9 months, but still has about 2 months before we can bring him home! Again, I am so happy for you!

  3. kag
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 20:51:53

    Nurse when you feel like it. No guilt. No stress. That’s the last thing you should be worrying about now. Even a few weeks of breastfeeding gave him a great start, and yes, he knows who mama is 🙂

  4. Cousin Betsy T.
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 01:25:29

    I can’t wait to meet little Rainbow this weekend. From the picture of him lip kissing you he clearly knows who his mama is.

  5. Erin
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 01:36:13

    Love, love, love the pictures. He is one gorgeous boy joining an equally gorgeous family.

  6. Mary in Atl
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 01:50:02

    Beautiful photos thanks for sharing…….loving the view of your family so happy.

  7. thisbumpyjourney
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 13:20:47

    Yes, it’s just plain sadness about the nursing, not guilt. It’s like a very special hug that only a mama can give her babies, and I wanted to be able to give him that, but my body isn’t letting me do it. I’m trying to learn to feel that closeness while bottle feeding; it’s just different, you know? He is still nursing at night and some during the day, but he’ll only do it for a couple of minutes before he gets annoyed with the slow flow and insists on the bottle. It *is* nice to give him that nice, full stomach with a bottle and cuddle with him after; he gets all full-tummy-drunk and content.

  8. thisbumpyjourney
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 13:42:30

    Mary Rae, what’s your blog address? I’m so glad you got to meet your little boy, and I know you can’t wait to bring that child home with you. How exciting!

  9. charmarie221
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 21:16:45

    I’m sorry it’s not working like you wanted, but as everyone, including you, has said, it’s served many purposes and will continue to do so as long as he’ll latch at all. The comfort, the small doses of antibodies, the closeness, the bonding, it’s all good. Does he like a sling of any kind (or do you have one you like?) because that’s a great way for skin/skin contact too…

    He is SO beautiful. Congrats again to all of you!

Leave a Reply

