But urine is sterile, right?

Every now and then, I sweat profusely during the night.  I think it’s when I’m bundled up a bit too much.  So, last night, when I woke up to wet sheets, I thought that I had gotten hot from sleeping close to Rainbow and sweated all over him.  I moved him out of the wet spot and went back to sleep.

(You totally know where this is going.)

Further inspection of the wet spot this morning revealed really, REALLY soaked sheets and an unmistakable odor.  Rainbow’s diaper was pretty much dry; somehow his willy had been aimed just right to direct the flow outward instead of into the diaper.

I gave him a quickie bath in the vessel sink in my bathroom (worked quite well, actually – they are kind of cone shaped – though a bit too small for my Hercules) and a rub-down with Burt’s Bees baby oil (yum, yummy, apricot deliciousness) and managed a shower of my own just now.  I was remarkably un-grossed out by this, but am not at all looking forward to washing our king size bedding and mattress pad.

And, um, checking to see if he soaked the mattress beneath.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CA Mama
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 20:54:29

    A waterproof mattress pad is a life saver. They are available super-thin these days, so you don’t even realize it’s there.

  2. charmarie221
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 21:37:05

    so I’m reading this prison book one time and it was talking about making shivs… you know, shivs… and how the inmates would pee on them, as a way to make things even “worse” when the weapon was used… the person telling the story was pointing out the irony because urine IS sterile so they weren’t doing anything yucky to the weapon like they thought they were, and were possibly making them cleaner….

    aaah, nothing like a good prison story

  3. Erika
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 07:39:58

    this would happen when i needed to get larger diapers….

    oh those little wee’s can really pack a punch. lol

  4. clara
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 17:47:09

    I have totally been there! I second the waterproof pad suggestion. We use a crib pad (after learning the hard way a few times too many!) and put it where baby is, in our bed, with blankets on top. I keep another pad & more blankets next to the bed & then swap the whole thing when bed gets soaked & it never hits our bed. Anymore 🙂

  5. thisbumpyjourney
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 12:54:33

    Won’t waterproof pads be all hot to sleep on? I guess that’s better than a urine soaked mattress, though, huh. I’m going to Target today and will check out my options. Yeah, I guess I could stock up on receiving blankets and layer a couple on top and it would be fine. Rainbow sure is a little snuggle bunny at bedtime; I am loving sleeping with him, wet diapers and all.

    Too funny, Char. Those wacky inmates and their homemade weapons crack me up every time.

  6. clara
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 13:11:54

    I found some waterproof pads that were pretty light & not at all plasticky. I worry about the warmth too. Another option is to put a beach towel down, folded, and rec. blankets on top, so you grab whats soaked in the middle of the night, and replace only the soaked layers.

  7. CA Mama
    Mar 28, 2009 @ 21:29:36

    Our pad doesn’t give us any trouble, though we put a regular pad over it (a gift from the store when we upgraded mattresses). So when I get peed out, I roll the toddler to my dry spot when changed and dry, throw down a towel or two and climb back in on them. Then, if I get back to sleep, I can deal with the wash in the morning.

Leave a Reply

