maturations

Little Rainbow has undergone a couple of milestones that are good in the long run, I guess, or at least inevitable, but kind of make me sad.

Milestone 1: I guess he’s weaned now. I’m pretty much not producing any milk at all, and have only tried to nurse him a few times in the last couple of days, with very limited success. It’s felt like there was a little bit of milk accumulating, but it was a very paltry amount, and then it just sort of goes away. So, yeah. I guess I’m all done nursing babies, like, ever.

**sniff**

Milestone 2: He slept in his cradle in our bedroom last night and seemed to actually prefer it. He’s kind of been sweaty and squirmy lately, so we gave it a shot and he honestly just seemed… relieved. I bought one of those baby positioner items with velcro-attached wedges on a very gentle foam ramp type thing, so it kind of feels snug around his middle. After the bedtime bottle, he went down while still drowsy and went right to sleep. He had another bottle at 3:30 and went right back to sleep in his cradle. So, yeah, that too. I guess I don’t have a baby who sleeps in my bed every night any more.

**sigh**

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer Jones
    May 25, 2009 @ 04:14:00

    I’m (literally) **sniffing** with you because my turn to wean my last is drawing near as well. I didn’t think I would be this sentimental about it…

  2. thisbumpyjourney
    Jun 02, 2009 @ 12:21:54

    Yeah, it’s sad, isn’t it – the end of a special connection. Which has to happen, but… I tried to nurse Rainbow several days ago and there’s just nothing there at all. And he’s fully comfy in his cradle, without me next to him. He seems to be growing up so very fast.

Leave a Reply

