maturations part II

As of today, Rainbow has outgrown two beloved baby accessories.

Maturation The First:

He spent last night in his crib, in his room, as opposed to his cradle in our bedroom.

It was a tough night for Mama.

He had just gotten a wee bit too large for the crib, and kept poking his hands through the bars and needing untangling. He also turned from tummy to back a couple of days ago, and I became very concerned that he would turn energetically and flip the crib over. (Yes, he sleeps on his back, but that back-to-front turning is soon to come. He’s a big archer and bender.)

So, goodbye cradle. I bought a video monitor since his bedroom is up on the second floor. Daddy J, seeing my freaked-outedness last night, very sweetly offered to buy another crib for our bedroom so that Rainbow could sleep in there until I feel better about him being in his own room.

I think it’s okay, though. I didn’t sleep too much last night – kept watching my live Babyvision TV, complete with exciting Deep Sighs, Occasional Twitches, and Long Stretches of Sleeping Baby – but he pretty much wakes up once at the most at night nowadays, and sometimes sleeps straight through.

At naptime this morning, he was pretty fascinated with his bedroom jungle decor. It’s fairly bright in there, even with the shades down, because they are white fabric and the sun makes the windows glow white. He went down without crying though; just needed one pacifier re-insert.

Maturation the Second:

I’m pretty sure he’s outgrown his bouncy seat. He’s almost able to bounce his bum off the floor, and I don’t think it’s intended for that kind of action.

The Bumbo, fyi, went the way of the dinosaurs a few weeks ago. It was meant for… slimmer babes, I do believe. There was a thigh circumference issue.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wendy
    Jun 29, 2009 @ 13:08:02

    Such a sweet and handsome guy!

    They should sell Bumbos in sizes…my little chunk of a guy also had thigh circumference issues…I’d pull him out of the seat and the seat would come with him. We got about 3 weeks worth of use out of it before it got too ridiculous to try to smoosh him into it.

  2. katie
    Jun 29, 2009 @ 14:15:09

    He is SO CUTE!!!!

  3. Debbie
    Jun 29, 2009 @ 18:56:14

    What a great room!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. thisbumpyjourney
    Jun 29, 2009 @ 23:42:56

    Yes, Wendy, we got very little use out of the bumbo. I’m thinking of craigslisting it along with the cradle, because it’s totally like new. He would enjoy it *now*, but I can’t imagine it’s comfortable to wedge those big thighs into it. Love those chunky baby boys, though, huh?

    And thanks, Katie and Debbie. I’m totally baby vain: I think he’s incredibly cute. And I really like his nursery, too. It was really cute when it was Ward’s room, and my pre-Rainbow embellishments added quite a bit, I think. I like to think of him gazing upon his animals and thinking about being master of his domain.

Leave a Reply

