all over the place

But let’s have the best news first:

F’s social worker from Rainbow’s home state called and said that she had gotten a call from F, the first since the birth.  F is fine, and she said that she loves the pictures and updates, and that she’d like to communicate by email with us so that we can know what’s going on with her, and would that be okay with us.  (YES.)

Which is a HUGE and WONDERFUL relief.  I haven’t heard from her yet (uh, guess who’s been checking her email frequently) but expect to before too terribly long.

+++++

Rainbow had his four month checkup on Monday. 

(And Yes, Evil Receptionist was there, and I SHOWED HER: when she told me to take a seat I turned away WITHOUT SAYING THANK YOU.  OOOOH, BURN…  We actually got there 10 minutes early, and I considered waiting in the car until the clock said it was exactly the appointment time, but decided that was stupid since Rainbow might wake up and I didn’t need to have the car running for no real reason.  AND YES: we finally saw the doctor ONE HOUR after our appointment time.  I do like him – he takes a lot of time to ask and answer questions – but find that incredibly ironic after the last appointment debacle.)

Ahem.

Rainbow is magnificently robust and perfectly healthy, and even gave the doctor some big charmer smiles.  He weighs 20 pounds 11 oz (97th percentile) and is 26.5 incles long (93rd percentile) and has a head circumference of 44cm (97th percentile.)  He had THREE shots, which I hated to agree to, but after researching on the web I think it’s for the best.  I spoke with the doctor and nurse about the vaccines again, and whether we should delay or stagger them, and they said that they didn’t see any reason whatsoever: he had no bad reactions to the last set and is a super healthy guy.

+++++

Rainbow’s eating really well, too.  (Hey, I heard that snicker over there!  Sure he’s a little beefcake, but he’s a BEAUTIFUL beefcake, no?)

leo grinning in swing

And jolly.

leo smiling in swing

The other day I was eating some raw cherries and he seemed interested, so I dribbled some cherry juice into his mouth.  He luvvvved it, so I skinned and pitted some cherries and ground them up in the baby food mill.  That boy went INSAAYYYNE for the cherry puree.  I just got back from Kroger and fed him some pureed fresh apricot with similar result.  He’s loving the fresh stuff (avocado – YES!  banana – not so much) so I brought home a selection: peaches and plums in addition to the apricots, cherries, and avocado.  Daddy J’s dad is bringing me home a butternut or patty pan squash if he can find one at the store, so we’ll give that a shot, too.

It’s so fun to feed a babe who loves food.

+++++

I’m getting my hair cut at a new place on Friday.  I think it’s relatively fancy, but the real bonus is that it’s within walking distance of Daddy J’s new office.  I’m hoping there will be a lunch date involved.  I’m thinking I want it fairly short (which, for me, is maybe a little longer than chin length) and I’m going to let an actual professional person color my hair, at Daddy J’s suggestion.

Hmm, highlights…?

I have a deep affection for Bai Ling’s highlights in this Lost episode, possibly because it took me awhile to figure out what exactly was going on ~ are those… FEATHERS in her hair?  Is she wearing TURKEY FEATHERS in her hair?  Feathers are SO COOL!!

Wonder if they’d be hard to keep up, though.  Hm.  Probably.  And I bet they’d cost puhlenty, too.  Bear in mind that I rarely want to deal with getting my hair done; I think it’s been five months.  (And yet: something vaguely punky and cool would be fun.)

+++++

Ruby, the basset hound, has had droopy red yucky eye issues so badly lately that she was literally blinded: bumping into stuff and navigating around walls like a visually impaired person.  I had been trying Benadryl, with a little success, but not a whole heck of a lot. 

BUT, when I took her and Snuggles, the cat, in for annual shots, the vet suggested that I try Zyrtec, which has been GREAT.  She’s much, much improved.  Still droopy and slightly gooey, but she can see!  (Can I get a glory hallelujah??) 

Just a little public service FYI in case you, too, have a hound dog with droopy, gooey, irritated eyes.

+++++

And that’s about it.  Rainbow is currently resisting sleep up in his room.  It’s just 6:40, but he is drunk and silly tired.  When I hold him for any amount of time, he can’t keep his eyes open, but putting him down in his crib causes him to break out the party eyes and bewitching smile and wiggle excitedly.

***sigh***

He’s not really crying, just complaining, but I’ll  go do a paci re-insert and give him some rubs on his peachy noggin.

He’s such a little sugar.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. OURBLENDINGJOURNEY
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 14:02:15

    HI. JUST TO SUGGEST A HAIR SALON, BELLA DONNA ON THE SQUARE IS GREAT! THEY STAY UP TO DATE ON NEW STYLES. THEY’RE FUNKY, QUIRKY, AND CLASSY AT THE SAME TIME.

    MY KIDS LOVE TO PLAY AT WARD’S PLAYGROUND. WE WERE THERE JUST THIS WEEK. I PUT SOME PIX OF MY KIDS PLAYING THERE ON MY BLOG. LET ME KNOW IF YOU’D LIKE THE ADDRESS.

    RAINBOW IS PRECIOUS!!

  2. Jane
    Jul 04, 2009 @ 11:52:31

    This baby is. absolutely. delicious!!

    Good luck with the highlights!

  3. Trackback: um… « love, loss, and rainbows

Leave a Reply

