moving on

(Although I’m still kind of smarting from the whole etiquette poll thing. I mean, honestly, I REALLY THOUGHT most people just didn’t care if you sent them thank you notes or not. *I* certainly don’t. Like, it’s a nice, gracious touch, but I thought nobody (well, hardly anybody) was tsking at their calendar and wondering where their note was for a gift given two months ago. But point taken, point taken – most of you, evidently, DO. My naivete is SHATTERED. But: Knowledge is a GOOD thing, MJ. Also – finish up the baby gift thank you’s for Pete’s sake already. Sheesh.)

Anyhoo.

Brought on by some mildly stated (but clearly evident) irritation from the lady who cleans our house, I’m having the big boys clean out their closets today.

Wheeee!!! Gee thanks, Mama! We LOOOOOVE to clean out our stuff! And we promise to be ALL CHIPPER about it!!1! :))

Sigh. They’re actually being okay this morning, although they took the news poorly last night, prompting me to threaten them with iPod confiscation if I got any more negative attitude about this project. I don’t think their closets have had a good cleaning out, other than too-small clothes removal, since we moved into this house almost 5 years ago, and they are brimming with clutter, unused toys, and of course too-small clothes and shoes.

Free boy stuff giveaway on my porch later today, pre-Salvation Army run. Stay posted!

+++++

I was all set to write a braggy post about Rainbow’s good sleep patterns several days ago, and then it all hit the fan (hallo, teething!) and I’ve been too sleep deprived to think straight. He woke up at 5am four days in a row, after a bottle at 2:00 or so, which is NO FUN I TELL YOU. Last night was somewhat improved, though – I gave him a late afternoon nap (he woke up at 5:00) and didn’t let him go down til 7:30, so he woke up at 6am, which is Just Fine.

Which leades us to:

Question of the Day #1: When the doctor/baby books say that baby should/could be sleeping through the night at this point, do they actually mean for a whole eleven hour stretch? That just seems kind of crazy. Like, I don’t like to go that long without food or using the bathroom, so how can babies make it without a bottle/feeding and diaper change, which then requires settling down? Right now, Rainbow generally needs a diaper change between 10:00 and midnight, and then a bottle around 2:00. That’s okay, right?

And out of left field, let’s have

Question of the Day #2: This website wants to use this video of Rainbow on it. Should I say yes, to help out a small businessperson? No, that’s my bebeh and I don’t want his image used to make anyone else money? Yes, if you give me some free stuff?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wendy
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 17:10:21

    Question #1: I can only speak from my experience, but my little guy did sleep through the night (about 10-11 hours) with out a feeding or diaper change on most nights (90%) at about 3-4 months. He was/is a big boy and a good eater so as long as he had a big night bottle before hand (still breastmilk at that time) he was usually good to go. He’s always been a really, really good sleeper though, so he might not be the best example. For most of my friends, one feeding a night seemed normal until 1 year old for a lot of them.

    Hmm, so that isn’t really a helpful answer, I guess.

    Question #2: I’d probably lean toward yes, but request some form of compensation and have some legal documentation to cover any limitations to the use of his image.

  2. Erika
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 17:43:11

    #1 salem 23 mo still is not sleeping though the night..so i can’t help you on that.

    #2 what wendy said.

  3. Dana
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 18:45:33

    Wow, I guess I was wrong on the etiquette thing too. I very rarely find enough free time to tackle those things….not that I don’t try. I just think saying thank you verbally is just as appropriate and people generally give things to make someone else happy not for the recognition of the act, right?
    Oh and Question 1. None of my 4 children ever had the same sleeping patterns. Though I would say they all slept fairly well. My 13 year old didn’t sleep through the night until her was 22 months, but he was the first so we worked around him. 9 year old slept what we considered “through the night” at 4 months from @10pm-5am with two 3-hour naps during the day. My 5 year old has always been a good sleeper, from 8pm to 7 am but no naps ever….that was brutal. My little one who is 2.5 years old has good nights and bad nights, and as long as she doesn’t have too many bad nights in a row I just try to roll with it. After the loss we had before she was born and the health scares she has given us along with the fact she is our last baby I can’t seem to want to rush through any of the stages…even the sleepless ones 🙂 (Obviously she slept well last night or I would not be so zen about it!)
    So to answer your question of course Rainbow needing a diaper change and bottle in the middle of the night is ok! I honestly don’t know if any of my children could have lasted 11 hours in one diaper…I changed some of them while they were still sleeping so there wouldn’t be leaks.

    #2 Again what Wendy said.

    Sorry this was such a long comment, I get a little wordy sometimes. Oh and by the way I love reading about your dreams. Dreams fascinate me, my own and other peoples.
    Dana

  4. Jane
    Aug 09, 2009 @ 15:35:34

    My girls were generally good sleepers. I did put them down at around 10 though so maybe that was a factor. They would sleep right through until about 6. That’s not 11 hours at a stretch though.

    My pediatrician explained it was more a matter of total hours of sleep during a 24 hour period rather than all at once. They would take an early morning nap and then a late afternoon nap.

  5. Jackie
    Aug 09, 2009 @ 18:59:55

    Both my boys were about a 1½ when the consistently slept through the night. They were big boys & needed to eat, the younger (now 15½) eats about every 10 minutes I think right now 😀

  6. charmarie221
    Aug 23, 2009 @ 04:21:44

    most baby sites and actual doctors will tell you, when pressed, that “sleeping through the night” actually just means 5 consecutive hours during the night time setting… that’s IT…

    and yes, total sleeping time during the 24 hour period is how they measure how much sleep a baby is getting… so 11-5, plus a 2 hour morning nap, plus an hour mid day nap, and a 2 hour late afternoon nap is 11 hours… next day might be 11-5:30, plus a 2 hour morning nap, an hour and a half mid day nap, and a 2 hour late afternoon nap for a total of 12 hours… add all these up for a week and get an average… should be between 11 and 14 hours a day….

Leave a Reply

