vent-tastic

AAAAARGHHHH!!!!!

Today is Rockinrolla’s first day at his new school, which is also Daddy J’s and my alma mater. A somewhat prestigious private school, which we plan for him to attend for the next six years.

And man, we were ready. Uniforms, textbooks, new large backback, folders, USB thing for the computer, summer reading, desk cleaned off. CHECK!

Except, apparently, amidst the eleventy-three emails we’ve gotten from the school this summer, I failed to make one crucial click.

They sent us the summer reading list back in June, so I dutifully ordered his two books and had him (enthusiastically!) read them. There was this comment given with the lists, “Students also need to complete a review sheet for each book,” and links for the review sheets, but dumb-ass Mama thought that that was just so you could look and see what the questions were going to be when they were posed in the fall during one of the first days of English class, and I promptly pushed it out of my mind. There was a follow-up email that gave a link you could read if you had any questions about summer reading – but hey, I didn’t! – so that didn’t help much. Also emails from English teacher with classroom requirements, yet no mention of any forms, and general chatty emails, but nowhere in the body of any email did it say:

MAKE SURE YOU PRINT OUT SUMMER READING FORMS AND HAVE YOUR CHILD COMPLETE AND BRING THEM ON THE FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL. OTHERWISE THEY WILL BE HUMILIATED AND HAVE DETENTION ON THE VERY FIRST DAY OF THEIR BRAND NEW SCHOOL.

Which obviously, as a dumb-ass Mama, I needed spelled out for me, because Rockinrolla is in detention right now. On his very first day of school. And I feel like beating my dumb-ass Mama head on the floor.

😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. skye
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 00:12:17

    Try not to feel tooooooo bad… I’ve been there!

  2. Erin
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 05:01:38

    Awww. Just tell him he’ll have a wonderful story to drag out at every family event for the next 75 years. And that it could be worse. Much worse.

    I still hound my mother about the time when I was 10 or so, and I mentioned (in passing) that flutes were pretty. She ended up renting one for what was the longest 18 weeks of my life, and then plopped me into band without so much as a single lesson. I was hounded and humiliated by the sadistic band instructor, who rather than recognize that there was something wrong, used me as an example in. every. class. And I was forced to “practice” at home for an HOUR every day, even though I had no idea of how to even hold the thing. I made some terrible noises, and never improved. Any musical inclination I had was snuffed out by this experience.

    See? Don’t you feel better now? LOL

  3. Meghan Cobble
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 10:51:28

    That sweet Rockinrolla.

    He has the heart to power through this. Not to mention the amazing personality too.

    Just to be humorous {and maybe it will make you feel better} maybe you should have Rockinrolla put you in detention. Like have him make up a adew things you have to do as a consequence…of course, in a silly way!!

    Perhaps that will show him your not perfect either and life is about mistakes and learning from them no matter how old you are.

    I used to be late to my basketball practices all the time because my mom was not a punctual person. It would stress me out because I am a punctual person. I had to run extensive amounts because of this. I think it would have made me feel better if she would have said sorry and maybe ran a few laps around the block for me.

    Just a thought. You are a good mama. Life just happens.

    And Rockinrolla loves his mama so. That is very evident and always has been!

    .mac 🙂

  4. Katie
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 13:04:07

    I think they are handling that wrong. I am all for personal accountability and for not blaming others for your own stuff, but this truly is NOT his fault since he didn’t even know he was supposed to do it. I think that’s a crummy way for them to deal with this flub.

    Does he like it so far?

  5. thisbumpyjourney
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 14:57:52

    You know, I was so agitated when he called me about it that I felt physically ill. I went back through the emails and, while it was *fairly* clear that I needed to have him do this, it wasn’t *crystal* clear unless I clicked on a link, which was not made to sound crucial. They are now doing an online parent communication board, which they have said is where you get progress reports and teacher communications, and it was posted there, but who would assume they had to go there before classes even started?

    Also, I think it bites that the kids affected by this confusion (Rockinrolla said there were about 10 middle schoolers, out of maybe 65 total, who were in detention over summer reading) are the NEW kids, those who are feeling MOST insecure and overwhelmed. And what about kids whose parents were driving to pick them up…?

    I did call the school (knowing the entire time that it was a dumb move – that NEVER helps) but I was nice, and said that I’d had no idea I had to print out the forms and have him complete them before school started, and that he had definitely read the books, and this was MY fault, and was told not to worry: he’d be given the forms in detention.

    Humph.

    Anyhoo, I’m trying to let go of it because my negative feelings aren’t going to help a single thing, least of all Rockinrolla.

    Rockinrolla is loving school. He worked very hard yesterday and this morning to finish his homework and do his reading reviews, and is feeling pretty confident about the whole thing.

  6. Wendy
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 16:00:46

    Aw, that stinks. But, on the bright side, now Rockinrolla will have something to talk about with his therapist when he is older 🙂

  7. Mary in Atl
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 16:57:15

    Rockinrolla will be fine, some of my life long friendships were formed in Night School at that very school- much of which was decreed by Daddy J’s father! So forgive me for laughing but I did! Marks & demerits are part of the deal there! Family tradtion ……He’ll be fine & he won’t “forget” to do any assignments on his own!

  8. Debra
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 18:28:32

    Detention? Aw, that’ harsh.

  9. Megan DuBois
    Aug 26, 2009 @ 01:09:10

    I’m with Katie. Give the parents a bit of a smack down and leave the kid alone. We are trying to navigate new schools for all of our kids this year and it is confusing and scary and anything that we miss will be ALL my fault !

  10. Amanda
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 02:57:10

    I’m a middle school teacher, and we just started a similar system to the one you described–online “communication board,” etc. It’s infuriating, and none of us like it, either! We can’t email progress reports anymore and we had to learn a new system AFTER school had already started…miserable.

    Just wanted to sympathize with your venting. Sounds like your boy handled it beautifully, regardless of the frustrating nature of the situation–good for him AND for your mama-ing!

  11. Auntie Sue
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 21:04:20

    He can use your guilt to his advantage! Tell him Auntie Sue said “MILK IT.”

Leave a Reply

