doggie tricks

I’m feeling very sad about Dana. You’d think, considering her various neuroses and the fact that we even tried to find her a home fairly recently, after she refused to submit to the German shepherd, that this wouldn’t be so hard.

But, oh, poor little girl. Where is she?

A. She was injured by a car and crawled off somewhere to die. Or met with disaster out in the wild.

B. She wandered to someone’s house and they thought she was a stray. Maybe she had become dirty and starving by then. They have taken her in and they are normal, nice people who have not seen the notices in the paper and didn’t know to check with the shelters or vets near us.

C. Someone saw her on the evening of August 14 in our tiny downtown, and she was all groomed and fluffy and well-fed, and they didn’t bother to ask any of the storekeepers if they knew this dog, and they bundled her into their car. They know she probably has a family, and they don’t care. They may have even seen the classified ad or the flyers, and they are avoiding the vets. (Do they somehow think they can profit off of her? She is a purebred, but she’s pretty old and she’s been spayed. No one would buy her, right?)

D. Someone kind of off-balance has her, someone who doesn’t understand that in a small town, sometimes the dogs wander to the square and it doesn’t mean they are strays. Someone who might also have fifty cats and twenty other dogs that are similarly “rescued.”

E. Someone really evil has her, who does awful things to animals, like collect harmless dogs to be the wimpy opponent for dogfights or some other kind of cruel activity.

Sigh…

I found myself wondering today if she is with a person who intends to keep her and care for her, is she doing her tricks for that person? Does she go through her routine of sit/shake/down for them? Will she ever even do her “Where’s Your Tummy?” trick again? And don’t they think that someone must have loved her to teach her tricks? Does she sneeze with delight when she sees them in the morning, and does she follow them from room to room and sit under their chair?

Even with her faults, I miss her so much. I wish I at least knew she was okay.

***edited to add: And of course there’s F. She was picked up and placed at a shelter. Where hopefully they are hanging onto her b/c she is a purebred and someone will want to adopt her or claim her. (um… What if she’s already been adopted?)

I’m all kerfuffle this morning because I listened to a voicemail at 10:30 last night saying there is an older corgi at a shelter pretty far away from us. But still – an older corgi at a shelter?? The woman wanted me to call her and give me her email so I could send her a pic. Daddy J says I should wait til 9:00 to call, but I had been thinking 8:00. I think I’m going to split the difference and call at 8:30.

Fingers crossed.

***edited AGAIN to add: I returned the phone call at 8:30 and got the family’s answering machine. I guess they’re all at work and school. So, presumably she will call me when she gets home and let me know what the dog she saw looked like.

The shelter that she said this corgi was in is an hour and a half away, so I guess it’s kind of unlikely that she made it that far, but still – it’s within the realm of possibility that Dana was taken to that area and ran off from someone’s yard, or they decided she wasn’t worth the trouble and took her to the shelter or just dumped her somewhere. I have emailed this shelter and attached a photo, and left them a voicemail, but they are closed on Thursdays (AAAAARGH!!) so I just don’t know anything right now.

***edited FINALLY to add: It wasn’t Dana. It was a very sweet looking, quite obese dog with mottled blond and white hair. I was really devasted last night. I had been so hopeful that I’d be driving to pick her up today. I’m going to print up some more flyers to put about in the neighboring small towns today. Apparently, it’s a good thing I got her on a corgi rescue site; members and corgi lovers keep their eyes out for corgis out and about and in shelters. So that makes me feel a little better about her odds of languishing in a shelter.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debbie
    Aug 27, 2009 @ 15:46:06

    Fingers crossed, I have felt your pain before, I am so sorry. I hope this has a happy ending.

  2. thisbumpyjourney
    Aug 27, 2009 @ 18:46:04

    Thanks, Debbie. I’m kind of afraid to really be too hopeful, but maybe, maybe, huh? I’m sorry you’ve been through this, too. It is awful.

  3. Auntie Sue
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 21:01:43

    So sorry, Julie. I was really hopeful she had been dognapped and had escaped and been picked up.

  4. Trackback: It’s been a slightly blurry week « love, loss, and rainbows
  5. Trackback: the end of October « love, loss, and rainbows

Leave a Reply

