6 month babe footage

He is utterly magnificent.

Like all of our boys.

I think at one point (early in this whole shebang) I was concerned that I would love him less since he wasn’t biologically mine. It was just a fleeting worry, though, because I knew I would love him. And I do. As intensely and Mama Lion ferociously as all my boys.

The adoption process makes it different, and that’s fine. There’s a gestation period of uncertainty and fears and am-I-up-for-this and when-will-it-happen, but it’s a gestation period nonetheless. There are additional layers of emotional concern and Very Important Relationship with the birthparents, but those take nothing away from my love for him. It’s just the Way Things Are.

The adoption process, at times, seems like it has added more import to parenting. Like, this honor and trust that have been bestowed on us makes me want to do an even better job with Rainbow, makes me want to make F and J that much more certain of their choice in us.

Because, holy cow, what a gift they gave in choosing us and trusting us with this child.

In the end, though, he is just one of the boys, like his brothers. One of our wonderful boys.

We are humbled and elated and swept away in love.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erika
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 03:46:07

    omg…i would be eating his tummy all day long…

  2. Meghan Cobble
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 11:49:23

    4 is a great number for you.

    Just as great as the numbers 1, 2, and 3.

    .mac 🙂

  3. Wendy
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 13:15:04

    It looks like Rainbow is pretty darn in love with you guys as well.

  4. CA Mama
    Sep 12, 2009 @ 03:09:41

    I know exactly what you mean!

  5. Erin
    Sep 12, 2009 @ 03:47:43

    Julie, I think you need to buy him some toys already. Seriously.

    He is so delicious. What a blessing!

  6. thisbumpyjourney
    Sep 12, 2009 @ 16:36:34

    Thanks, everyone. He is such a sweetheart. I am enjoying him SO much today, especially since Daddy J let me sleep in when the babe woke up at 5:30. Funny how great it makes me feel to sleep in ’til 7:30.

    And Erin, Rockinrolla tickled me yesterday by referring to Rainbow’s play area (with quilts on floor, play tunner, and saucer) as his “campus.” Ha.

Leave a Reply

