Rainbow and his bottle

Rainbow’s new thing is to have his bottle put in his mouth and rubbed on his gums. He wants to do this after he eats and is no longer hungry, and he thinks it is funn-eee if you present the bottle slowly. He lunges for it and gives it a good chomp.

And yeah, he still gets fascinated by the camera. We have to be all sneaky to try to film him in his natural state, and all bets are off when he notices a camera.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Toby
    Sep 13, 2009 @ 23:55:34

    Hey I don’t want to sound rude or anything, but his actual name is Rainbow? Or is it just a nickname.

  2. thisbumpyjourney
    Sep 14, 2009 @ 00:42:00

    No, his real name isn’t Rainbow. I gave everyone in the family (except for Ward) nicknames when I started this blog. Mama Jamz, Daddy J, the Fishmaster, and Rockinrolla.

    The previous blog, which I had at one point made private, had our real names, but when we began the adoption process I wanted to both be able to share our grieving/post-grieving and adoption journey with the world AND keep it private from potential birthparents.

    Now, any worries about Rainbow’s birthparents finding us and dropping in on the front porch or doing something creepy or whatever are gone, but I do still feel like I don’t really want them reading what I write here, at this point anyway. If our roles were reversed, I know that I would be totally OCD about reading these entries, which would probably not be so great for the birthparent healing process.

    And, I would want to know if they were reading this so that I could be careful not to say anything that might hurt them. I don’t *think* I’ve said anything that would upset them, but they are a really important set of people, and I would want to weigh my words really carefully before I put them down if I knew they were being read by Rainbow’s birthparents.

    And no, you didn’t sound rude. 🙂

  3. thisbumpyjourney
    Sep 14, 2009 @ 00:44:10

    Wanted to add, too, that the idea of a Rainbow baby is somewhat common in the grieving parent world. A Rainbow child is a child you have after the loss of another child; your rainbow after the rain.

    Similarly, I refer to Ward as our Butterfly, since he left his earthly body and moved on from here, in what I believe is a more beautiful, freer form.

  4. Meghan Cobble
    Sep 14, 2009 @ 03:24:14

    I want him.

    Can I sign up for weekend duty like I do with Mollye?

    .mac 🙂

  5. Toby
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 03:26:13

    Oh I was just curious about that. I think Rainbow and butterfly are both beautiful nicknames and more now that I know the meanong behind them and don’t worry I don’t think you’ve ever said something in this blog that had upset anyone. Greetings.

  6. Suzanne
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 20:19:04

    Oh, I kinda hope that the snarky receptionist at the ped. office reads this!

  7. thisbumpyjourney
    Sep 18, 2009 @ 14:08:42

    Thanks, everyone.

    And Meghan – SURE!! He would love to hang out with your family for a weekend. He thinks your boys are a hoot. 🙂

    And hello back at you, Toby. 🙂

    Yeah, Suzanne, I hope so, too. I can’t imagine that they can’t find someone more pleasant for the front desk, especially in this job climate. I’d love to get her on her toes, maybe she’d put a little more effort into being nice to people… 😉

  8. Auntie Sue
    Sep 21, 2009 @ 23:37:34

    Yum!

Leave a Reply

