what Rainbow has been up to

Quite a bit, actually.

His third tooth has emerged, right beside the lower two. I can feel its pointiness and see the rest of it right under the gum.

He’s been exceptionally agreeable and funny and sweet, although he pretty much won’t take a nap worth anything anywhere except in his own bed. He’ll fall asleep in the car or stroller sometimes, but wake up as soon as the movement stops. Bedtime sleep has been very, very good. Sometimes he makes it for twelve hours (!!) but more often he wakes between 3:00 and 5:00 for a bottle and diaper change, and then will almost always go back to bed til 6:30 or so. That’s with a bedtime of about 6:30 at night, so no complaints here: I get my bebe time AND my daddy and big boy time in the evenings.

He tried for a good fifteen minutes to clap his hands the other day. It was amazing to see: he was quivering with excitement and trying SO hard to work it out. He pays attention when we sign, so maybe some of that is sinking in. He loves blowing raspberries again, and sometimes comes out with some consonant babbling. No pulling up yet, although he’s been holding himself up in standing position when we hold his hands for quite a while now. Totally a pro at the sitting and rolling about.

All he really wants to eat is mac-n-cheese, Gerber #2 style. I bought him a bunch of different foods the other day, but only about 6 of these little gems. And it turns out that is LITERALLY all he wants. He’ll tolerate oatmeal and prunes or some other fruit for breakfast, but for lunch and dinner, this product is the ticket. Forget Yo-baby sweetened fruity yogurt, rice and veggie combos, or plain green beans – bleccch. I need to quit blogging and go ahead and order a couple of 12 packs from Amazon already. So far he is NOT into texture or chunks of any stripe or flavor.

On warm days he enjoys the inflatable kiddie pool (which thankfully has a “NO DIVING” warning on it, I kid you not) on the back deck.

Leo in kiddie pool

And bathtime, of course; now relocated into our big tub because he’s a boy who likes to SPLASH.

Leo in bathtub

The front porch is always fun, especially with Sharon, the little calico, who is quite tolerant about his squealing and grabbing. We’re working on the “gentle touch” thing, but he’s not buying it yet.

leo on porch

Of course, he still loves his outside swing. And strolls are GREAT. He is in love with the $3 fan (the red item pictured below – it fits handily in the cup holder) I bought him in the spring from Wal-mart. OHMYGOSH he adores it. He gripes if I don’t have it turned on, and then turns his face toward it. He especially enjoys plunging his fingers into the (soft and non-damaging) fan blades. DANG it took me a while to get used to seeing that, but it doesn’t hurt his fingers and he likes to make the fan sputter to a stop and then restart. It’s all about the power and control, I suppose, which is a good thing for a babe to know he has, no?

leo in stroller with fan

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Auntie Sue
    Sep 25, 2009 @ 19:42:12

    A no diving warning seriously? I won’t then. Those pictures are so cute.

  2. Meghan Cobble
    Sep 26, 2009 @ 12:34:52

    HE is adorable! I mean gaw.

    I could just eat him up.

    I like your documentation of what’s new in his world; it reminds me of what was new in my little guys’ worlds too at that age!

    .mac 🙂

  3. Wendy
    Sep 28, 2009 @ 13:51:16

    Oh my gosh, Gerber mac and cheese #2 must have baby crack in it…once my little guy had some, he wanted to eat it every day. I tried (when he got a bit older) to give him actual homemade mac and cheese and he very much disagreed with that decision (also not a fan of texture).

    He is 15 months old now, had almost all his teeth and still will happily eat that mac and cheese.

    Rainbow continues to be about as cute as humanly possible.

  4. thisbumpyjourney
    Sep 28, 2009 @ 23:34:39

    Too funny, Wendy. I just gave Rainbow 1 2/3 jars of the stuff for dinner. Tried to sneak in some organic chicken, rice, and veggies, but NOOOOO!!! only the mac n’ cheese would do. And thank you: he is amazingly cute and I am incredibly proud of his attractiveness, in addition to his other virtues. 🙂

    And thanks, Meghan. I was thinking – I guess this is his baby book? Since I am totally doing nothing with any other sort of baby book for him and his adoption scrapbook is kind-of-getting-close-to-completion? I guess I should print it all out periodically so he will have it.

    And yes, Sue. No joke: NO DIVING INTO THE FOUR INCH DEEP POOL!!! And thanks, I am especially fond of the next to last pic. He’s such a sweetie pie.

  5. Trackback: strengthening « love, loss, and rainbows

Leave a Reply

