the swine flu

has arrived at our house.

Rockinrolla is infected with the Dread Pig, which, so far, has proved to be a toothless, wimpy little thing, not the menacing razorback I had feared.

He started feeling bad Saturday morning, mostly just very sleepy. I thought it was due to a tough week at school. We had a special weekend planned, so he may have been so excited that he didn’t accurately report how crummy he felt, though. He took a nap before dinner that night (weird) and didn’t eat his dinner (at his very fave restaurant, the Spaghetti Factory: double weird) and wasn’t up for the evening’s planned activity (the symphony with Glen Campbell: possibly NOT as weird, come to think of it.)

The next day, though, was a zoo trip that he was VERY MUCH looking forward to, and he petered out about halfway through, with red eyes and pained expression. He said that the light bothered him and that it hurt him to move his eyes. He also had a headache and clearly just felt AWFUL, AWFUL, AWFUL. We went to an urgent care place (my favorite one, near the movie theater and Kohl’s – short wait plus nice and clean environment) which confirmed the virus. They said that 98% of their flu cases were H1N1 now.

Rockinrolla got some Tamiflu and perked right up. He was disappointed that NO, he was not allowed to go play basketball with friends last night and had to be quarantined. He did want some ibuprofen at bedtime, though.

The rest of us seem all clear. I was pretty sure yesterday that I had it; I had a headache and was tired, and had slept in the same bed as Rockinrolla on Saturday night and shared a hotel room and bathroom. Today, though, I feel fine, so maybe it was just a bad night’s sleep at the hotel and fretting about illness that did it. I’m going to go get tested at the place near home this morning. Rainbow has been at Grandma L’s for the past TWO nights and I miss him so much I can hardly stand it. We had just planned on him being there Saturday night, but had him stay (with a totally adoring grandma) for an extra day in case Rockinrolla got really sick and in case I came down with it. I’m hoping for an all-clear for me from the doctor this morning, but either way the babe needs to come home, I think. We’ll just have to be super-vigilant with the germies.

Stupid swine flu.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Auntie Sue
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 02:46:30

    Thinking of all in your sick world and hoping it’s a short-lived bug. From what I’ve read, it’s not fun, but not dangerous except to pregnant women and the elderly. Hope it’s all gone soon.

  2. Katie
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 04:01:21

    “The Dread Pig” is my new moniker, and it;s extra funny, for reasons I will explain when I see you in 2 weeks 😉

  3. Mary in Atl
    Oct 01, 2009 @ 02:18:00

    hoping the Oink stops with one of you ! Feel better soon. Mare

Leave a Reply

