recipe 911

So, the Fishmaster’s school, which is completely awesome and involves a lot of parent participation, is having a special lunch week. The kids have to pack lunches every day anyway (there’s no cafeteria) but this week, on Monday-Wednesday-Friday, parents are bringing in the kids’ favorite dishes to share so the kids can have little lunchtime feasts.

The Fishmaster, in a clever move to keep me on my toes, stated that his favorite dish was STEAK.

Ahem.

STEAK…??

So, after initial panic, I’m thinking Meat on a Stick, right? I’m thinking I’ll get the most marbly looking steaks, cut them into cubes and marinade, and then… broil them until brown on each side? I’m thinking two Meat Kebabs per middle schooler…? I’m only supposed to do 10 servings, so I can handle this.

Any suggestions for marinades or food prep are MOST WELCOME. I have to go into the Big City for the afternoon and will pick up meat and marinade on the way home, but can read responses on my handy iPhone if any of you have any great ideas to share.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Auntie Sue
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 13:54:34

    You can get kabob chunks already cut – get good quality and no marinade is really necessary. I have some bamboo sticks you can have. Put them on the sticks with various veggies and grill for a few minutes. Quick, easy and good.

  2. thisbumpyjourney
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 19:01:31

    Daddy J came through for me. I bought a value pack of some sort of “steak for grilling” (sirloin, perhaps?) and he took care of the whole kit and caboodle: cut it up, marinaded it overnight, kebabed it and broiled it this morning. I’ll get the report from the Fishmaster this afternoon on how well it went over, but with his Daddy cooking it, I’m sure it was good.

  3. thisbumpyjourney
    Oct 08, 2009 @ 18:06:40

    So, the kebabs were a big hit. Three other mamas brought steak, but the Fishmaster reports that everyone wanted the meat on a stick, and that he wished there had been more.

Leave a Reply

