kisses

I had such a great time with my mom yesterday. It’s so nice that after my (ahem.) early adolescence, we are all friendly now and love to meet up and catch up. It’s such a cozy, feminine activity, and seems to be the one big bonus of being the mother of a daughter: the hope for adult manicure sessions and shopping trips and lunches together.

(Did you catch that, boys? You must HANG OUT WITH MAMA FREQUENTLY when you are all grown up.)

(And live closeby.)

(…sigh…)

I’m loving Ann Taylor Loft of late. It may even have replaced my adoration for TJ Maxx (gasp!!!) as far as personal clothing shopping goes. The fit is working well, and the styles are nice – like, trendy without being high school-y – and the sales are great. Mom, on the other hand, is all into Coldwater Creek, and bought me a very pretty black dressy cardigan from there as a special treat. (and let me pick out one of my Christmas presents, which is very cute and I am going to try to forget she bought for me – la la la la la…) And then lunch at Macaroni Grill. Meanwhile, Grandma L was taking care of Rainbow at our house, so smiles all around.

+++++

In other news: Rainbow is ALL INTO his Daddy. I’m okay, of course, and he’ll laugh with me and play with me and read books with me and (occasionally) let me kiss him, but it’s all different with Daddy: when Daddy comes home from work, Rainbow vocally insists on kisses from him. Over and over. When Daddy J tries to slip away after, like, ten kisses, Rainbow is all – NUH UHH!! and yells until his daddy sits back down and kisses him some more.

Which is super sweet and all, but… he doesn’t want to kiss me like that. Recently, at any rate.

(…sniff…)

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debbie
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 14:59:38

    How precious………

  2. Debra
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 17:39:20

    Maybe it’s the beard? But, yes, precious.

  3. Grandma L
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 20:11:47

    I couldn’t get him to give me a big ole kiss either. Maybe I’ll change my voice to a lower tone and grow a beard and get curly hair…but he did give me some non-forgettable hugs. He is a blessing to our lives!

  4. Beverly Sanford
    Nov 14, 2009 @ 04:29:00

    I am all about Ann Taylor Loft-

    I am enjoying reading your blog.
    You are an excellent writer, you pull the reader in…
    Have you ever thought about writing a book?
    At MTSU there is a writers loft program….

    Anyway, have a great weekend.

    Again, I am enjoying your blog.
    You have a great way with words, writing and being real.

    Have a great weekend!

    Beverly Sanford

  5. Daddy J
    Nov 14, 2009 @ 12:54:12

    It’s because I am brutally handsome. Duh…

Leave a Reply

