so, whatcha eating?

I ask because I’m kind of feeling burned out with my eating of late, and don’t really feel like cooking from scratch for anybody. Bleh.

Daddy J has been doing the lion’s share of the dinner cooking, which is often a meat, rice, and veggies, or pasta with turkey smoked sausage and tomato sauce, and I’ll have marinated/grilled/deep fried tofu or else a processed faux meat in lieu of whatever meat Daddy J fixes. So, Amy’s California burgers, Italian tofu bratwurst, Gardein Italian fake chicken breasts, that sort of thing. Which is fine, but I could use some inspiration. I guess it’s about stew time, and time for the ol’ crockpot, as well.

So, here’s the question du jour: Got any good and hearty veggie meal ideas?

As far as my actual eating plan, I feel kind of silly even describing it. It’s very… personalized.

I never drink cow’s milk (though I swill vanilla rice milk) or eat chicken, pork, or beef. (Although I won’t turn my nose up at a dessert that was cooked with milk, and MIGHT have a bite of a meat dish that Daddy J says is exceptional.)

I avoid real cheese in general, but if Daddy J brings home fancy cheese from Whole Foods I’m ALL over it.

I started eating fish every week or two a few months ago, and am a big fish fan now, preferably raw or seared, but baked or grilled is good, too.

I started eating eggs a month or so ago, and am very pro. Maybe twice a week I’ll have a fried or poached egg, and it’s GREAT. I like to make whole wheat McMuffins with soy cheese and a fried egg – mmmmm. I either get eggs from a friend with chickens in her backyard or the fancy organic free range eggs at the grocery store, so I’m hopeful that the chickens aren’t leading too terrible a life.

(Dear Internet, Please don’t correct me here. The moderately-happy-chicken illusion is important to me. Thankssomuch.)

And I’ve totally gotten lazy with the fresh fruits and veggies thing, which is probably at the root of my dietary ennui. I just hate to grocery shop, especially with the babe. I like to make a huge trip every two weeks, and it’s hard to buy fresh stuff and use it before it spoils.

Anyway. Eh, on the whole feeding myself thing, and would love to hear any good advice or recipes you like.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen Witkin Swidler
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 03:56:07

    I might make my husband read this post because he thinks my eating habit are odd (he, on the other hand, is a human garbage disposal). I do eat meat, seafood, and chicken, but no pork products (not for religious reasons, but because I’ve not touched pork since Charlotte’s Web was read to me when I was very young). Anyway, I buy mostly organic — especially milk (1% lactose-free), fruit, and veggies. My chicken/beef is free-range and grass fed (eggs are from free range chickens, too). If I am going to eat beef, it’s in the form of steak, and I can’t remember the last time I ate a hamburger. I do love a well-dressed veggie burger, though, especially with tomato and avocado!

    I do indulge in dessert every day — sometimes multiple times per day, but not junky stuff. My two biggest “rules” are: no products containing partially hydrogenated oils/trans fats, and nothing containing nitrates, MSG, or other “processed” foods. I find that eating non-processed foods, etc. really cuts down on my migraines. I also find that my running is much stronger when I’m eating “whole” foods.

    Biggest guilty pleasures??? Sweet Mandy B’s cupcakes, TONS of Diet Coke, and Intelligentsia lattes (2% milk, extra shot, extra hot). Oh, and milk chocolate… and Haribo gummi candy.

    Try this website: http://www.101cookbooks.com/

    She uses a lot of natural products, and I’ve made a lot of recipes from this site!

    (And I’m sorry about hijacking your post with a long one of my own).

  2. Suzanne
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 05:08:00

    “The Enchanted Broccoli Forest” by Mollie Katzen is an awesome resource, as are all of the The Moosewood cookbooks.

    http://www.molliekatzen.com/archives.php

    This is probably my favorite dish, ever:
    http://tastyplanner.com/recipes/172-tofu-and-broccoli-with-peanut-sauce

  3. Wendy
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 15:43:13

    I am a meat eater, but trying, for environmental reasons, to add meatless days to my menu. A few ideas I like:

    – spaghetti squash with red sauce (we make a basic marinara and add bell peppers, onions, and any other veggies starting to look aged)

    – since you eat fish…I do love a good tuna melt on whole wheat bread for comfort food. I’ve never tried it with soy cheese, but I’m sure that would work

    – homemade pizza with lots of veggie toppings

    – bimbap made with soy scrambles (http://www.maangchi.com/recipe/bibimbap). You can omit any thing you don’t have or like.

  4. Karen Swidler
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 21:09:51

    I LOVE the Moosewood cookbooks. I made the mushroom bisque (served with a sprinkling of Gruyere and croutons on top) not too long ago!

  5. thisbumpyjourney
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 22:46:44

    Oooh, once again I am SO excited with the great ideas and references and hints. I’m even feeling a bit of bounce tonight and am making homemade veggie-barley soup with meatballs to add in for the guys. I like to use 1/2 V8 juice and 1/2 veggie bouillon and put in nutritional yeast. I wish I had some kelp, but I think I’m out.

    Anyway, looking so forward to checking out your great ideas. Thank you so much. 🙂

    (I’m cleaning up after dinner prep and listening to Rainbow breathe hard and start to stir and also wondering about how I’m going to do an important something that I will try to post about and see what you all have to say… whew…)

  6. thisbumpyjourney
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 01:42:27

    Oh. My. Goodness. I made the homemade soup and decided on a whim to grind some up in the baby food grinder for Rainbow. I mixed in some baby oatmeal and formula to cool it down, and the boy went NUTS for it. It was really only lightly salted (1 1/2 cups bouillion and low sodium V8 for the whole pot at that point) but I guess it was more salt than he was used to. Whatever it was, he LOOOOOOVED it. I was slightly concerned about the tomato acidity thing, but it looks like (according to teh interwebs) cooked tomatoes are less acidy than raw ones, and, at almost 9 months, he will probably be able to handle it, and that the worst case scenario would be a diaper rash.

    Anyway! What a great start on the whole Start Cooking Again Mama campaign!

    (Also – the big boys chowed down on big bowls of chunky veggie soup with organic ground beef meatballs and cheese, which makes me VERY happy.)

  7. Leslie
    Nov 19, 2009 @ 12:40:43

    I have a great recipe for vegetable chili–even my husband, who’s all about meat, loves this and says he did not miss the meat. Let me know if you are interested because it’s a LONG recipe. It includes (among lots of other things) peppers, onions, tomatoes, eggplant, cilantro, and two kinds of beans and is labor-intensive on the chopping but worth it!

  8. elizabeth
    Nov 19, 2009 @ 15:41:01

    We’re all vegetarian on our house. We eat LOTS of veggie soup and veggie chili in the winter. Also, homemade pizza with loads of fresh veggies every Friday night. And pasta, of course, WAY too much pasta.

    Here are some of our current favorites:

    http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/browse-all-recipes/pasta-marinated-tomatoes-mozzarella-10000001639533/index.html

    http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/browse-all-recipes/stewed-vegetable-gratin-10000001586945/index.html

    http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/browse-all-recipes/orecchiette-roasted-broccoli-walnuts-00000000008023/index.html

    I double the amount of broccoli in this last one and folks are still digging around for more. It’s all garlic-roasted and delicious and people can’t seem to get enough!

  9. thisbumpyjourney
    Nov 20, 2009 @ 19:15:12

    And Wendy, I failed to mention that I LOVE bibimbap. Back in the day, Daddy J did international admisisons for the private school in our town, and we entertained a lot of the foreign students’ families. There used to be an AWESOME Korean restaurant in Nashville (Arirang) that we went to and I got addicted to bibimbap. Mmmmm-mmmm. Can’t wait to try that recipe.

    I feel like I’ve heard other people say they loved the Moosewood cookbooks, too. I think I have a big Amazon order coming up, what with all the great book recommendations you all gave, as well.

    I’m not sure I’ve ever made a homemade pizza crust (can that be true??) but that sounds like a train I need to get on. The premade crusts always seem so processy, but a homemade would be great. I have one of those pizza stones for the oven, so I guess that would help, right?

    Leslie, I would love to hear your recipe, but FYI Daddy J won’t eat eggplant, so if it makes a huge batch, I’m not so sure I’d make it. Does the eggplant blend in so it’s not noticeable? Is there a link to the recipe? If you’d have to type it in, then I wouldn’t bother, b/c realistically I won’t make anything complicated that The Man won’t be excited about. But thank you for the suggestion – and I love eggplant, myself.

    We love roasted broccoli, too, elizabeth, so I’m sure we’ll love that last recipe, and I can’t wait to try all of those out. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Leave a Reply

