the big one

All right ladies: (and gentlemen…?)

Here’s a toughy.

I’m on the Habitat for Humanity ball committee in the county seat. I LOVE both the charity and the ladies I work with. It’s something I look forward to all year – the lunch meetings, the planning, the gathering of auction items, the invitation stuffing, the decorating, the testing of the wines for the meal, getting fancied up for the patrons’ party and the ball itself, and of course the charity itself is such a great one… ahhh! One of my favorite things EVER.

Anyway. I’m kind of – historically – a less productive member of the team. Like, I do contribute a bit, of course, but I’m more like a worker bee and not a directing bee. Which suits me GREAT.

Last year, we did a new thing in the ballroom. Under direction of Director Bee D., we stapled glossy gold plasticky fabric onto long wooden boards (all precut by D’s men at her house) and then affixed them to the walls, so that the entire room was swathed in gold. And Yes Indeed, it was beautiful.

The idea was that we would be able to recycle these drapes for at least a few years, but information got miscommunicated and the drapes are no more.

BUT! The ladies agreed that the gold draped room was worth repeating, in this year’s colors, of course. And also that I should be in charge of this activity. Or, do whatever I want to do with the walls, plants, archways, and so on.

(casts eyes about and claps hands to cheeks melodramatically)

Say whaaaaaaa????? You don’t mean MEEEEEE????!!!

But, I do love me my Habitat Ball and will run with this, um, ball, if that’s what I’m being called upon to do. And of course my other committee members will help me out, and D. will give me advice and how-to’s from last year, and so forth.

So, I can DO this, right?

My question: Have any of you decorated for a ball before? Swathed walls in beauty for any reason whatsoever? This year’s colors are white, silver, and black, which to me says Starry Night of Romance, but feel free to dream away and share. Is there a way that I could do a continual drapey thing, like bunting, that swoops up into gathers or rosettes of fabric, and eliminate the whole sawing/exact measuring/lugging heavy wood about/nailing it to the walls thing? I was thinking MAYBE of black fabric sprayed with glitter, but would that be too dark? Silver might be the way to go? Also, what about that wired stuff with stars attached, like garland – could we let that be involved with the gathering up bits?

(I THINK I can, I THINK I can, I THINK I can…)

(stomach lurches)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lorri
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 14:05:22

    Hi. I read your blog a lot and I just love big parties that have themes. As soon as I saw the colors you have to work with I remembered a party I organized with a “Hollywood” theme for a graduation party. I got a lot of the decorations from a website called

    http://www.shindigz.com/Catalog.cfm?cat=14826

    This link should open right to the Hollywood page. I got a lot of great ideas from them. Inside of buying some of the wall decorations like the movie reels and the cameras I just went onto my computer and checked some of the clipart that I had. I was able to save a lot of money by printing them out on nice white paper and cutting them out. They looked exactly the same as the ones they were selling and cost me practically pennies because I had the time and patience to cut them out with scissors and x-acto knives. I even made the star invitations that they show. I really did save so much money and nothing looked homemade.
    Don’t know if you like the idea but I thought it was worth passing on to you.

    I hope you have a great time with your party!!

  2. Lorri
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 14:07:37

    I forgot to mention that if you are interested in any type of wall decoration like the gold that you spoke of, you should look under gossamer. It’s fabric you can drape on the walls or ceiling.

  3. thisbumpyjourney
    Nov 19, 2009 @ 11:51:11

    Ooooh, nice link, Lorri! I checked out the site and they have a lot of great stuff. LOTS of starry/celestial stuff, which is what the lady who is doing the tables has done, so that’s exciting. I really like the huge light up moon and the shooting stars in this collection: http://www.shindigz.com/party/When-Stars-Fall.cfm

    And you are so good with the x-acto knife and your craftiness! That’s a great idea. We have already ordered invitations but maybe that method can be put into play with the room decorations.

    We had our meeting yesterday, and it’s ALLL going to be okay. The lady who did the golden walls last year, D., is going to help me do the walls this year, so I guess we will do them how she did. I had concocted an idea involving cup hooks, twine, and making a hem type pocket with glue dots on the gossamer sheets, and then making taut lenghts of twine between cup hooks to act as curtain rods, but I think people liked the wooden frame-hanger idea. So, that’s fine.

    Also, they liked the idea of going in person to get the gossamer from a party store so they could check it out, and so weren’t pro my online shopping for gossamer. Which is also fine, and I see their point on that for sure. I think D. is going to get the gossamer for us (yay) so that’s great.

  4. Lorri
    Nov 19, 2009 @ 13:52:31

    Glad to hear that it’s all working out for you.

    I meant to tell you yesterday that I really enjoy your blog. You have an absolutely beautiful family. Thank you for sharing with us all.

    Have a good day!

  5. thisbumpyjourney
    Nov 20, 2009 @ 19:05:36

    Thanks, Lorri. That’s really nice to hear. 🙂

  6. Trackback: sparkly « love, loss, and rainbows

Leave a Reply

