adoption list link

I was just eating some marginally stale birthday cake and having a spot of tea after I got Rainbow down for a nap, and came upon this list of adoptive hotbutton questions.

It’s pretty good, nothing tremendously earthshattering I guess (YES, we’ve heard about all of them, unfortunately) but I thought it was interesting that the author felt that the most common irritating question was, “Now you’ll get pregnant! They always do.”

Which: YES. It BAFFLES me that people would say something like that, yet they DO. REPEATEDLY. And even when they are friends, and you nicely say, “Well, no, that’s actually not going to happen with us,” they’re all, “Ha ha, sure, that’s what they ALL say. My cousin/friend/neighbor tried for five years to have a baby and as soon as they brought their adopted baby home, she was pregnant.” And then you say (although you later kick yourself for oversharing), “Well, actually, no, that would be a Medical Impossibility with me,” and they stare expectantly at you, as if you are going to launch into exactly why this is the case. Which: No. I mean, honestly? People want a reproductive schematic of me?

Gah.

I guess I’m just relieved to know that I’m not the only person who has to hear this line, over and over.

(And if you’re a friend, and you’ve said this, I’m over it and I love you, but for future reference: No.)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jon
    Nov 24, 2009 @ 20:53:22

    This makes me think of the 80 thousand stupid things I’ve said in my life. Ugh.

  2. thisbumpyjourney
    Nov 24, 2009 @ 21:34:33

    Well, yeah, and now I feel bad for even posting this, because I have said a tremendous amount of really stupid things, too. This isn’t even that incredibly horrible in the big scheme of things, just an irritant.

  3. jon
    Nov 24, 2009 @ 21:57:28

    But you shouldn’t feel bad for posting this – at all.

Leave a Reply

