Gold Star Day: First Word

Last night I was putting Rainbow to bed and reading Goodnight Moon (again: DANG, but this child loves this book with a passion) and he said it.

His first word, other than an occasional “Da Da” and (when agitated) a “Ma!” or “Mam!”

(Which I confess that I love and may cultivate. I’ve been Mama to all the other boys, but Mam is pretty sweet.)

Anyway!

Drum roll please…

He said BOOK.

I know!!! He’s BRILLIANT!!!
He kind of left out the vowel (who needs it, anyway) and said Bk! Bk! and patted his book excitedly. Of course he wouldn’t repeat it for Daddy J last night after I called him up, and hasn’t repeated it yet today, but:

The Knowledge is There. I Heard It.

Bk! Bk! Bk!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    Nov 24, 2009 @ 20:45:36

    You’re right. He is BRILLIANT. That’s the most awesome first word EVER. Rainbow ROCKS.

  2. Sarah
    Nov 24, 2009 @ 21:50:05

    Omg that’s so sweet. A baby’s first words are always a beautiful and important milestone. And BOOK. Oh boy! My daughter’s first word was when she was 7 months and it was water, although it sounded more like wataa, but she kept pointing at her bottle and I asked this? And she said yay. Well, congratulations you have a very clever boy.

  3. thisbumpyjourney
    Nov 25, 2009 @ 01:35:20

    Thanks, ladies. I am so proud that this is his first word. He LOVES his books. He didn’t repeat his word all day, although he listened attentively when I pronounced it (over and over) and read him books (over and over) but I bet he says it tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

