so, whatcha buying?

I’ve been ticking along with a bit of Christmas shopping and planning and thinking I was doing fairly well, but now it’s DECEMBER ALREADY and I feel the need to STEP IT UP and GET IT OVER WITH.

The Commodore helped me bring down some boxes of decorations yesterday; Mildly Creepy Full-Size Santa is out on the porch this year, as well as the Lit-Up Goose Family. The mantel is naked and ready for some Christmas dressing.

So, shopping:

I LOVE Sierra Trading Post and have placed three orders there already. (Be sure to do an online search for coupons – I got 15% off during November.) Great deals on outdoorsy stuff, nice sweaters, throws, some candles. And, um, also some lovely Calida underwear to throw in the basket as a shopping reward for yourself. I have batch #2 of Calida stuff on its way since I loved batch #1 so much.

One Step Ahead has gotten two orders from me as well. Several of the very young people in my life will be getting this item.

And… I’ll share one of my ALL TIME FAVORITE sites. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful online discount bookstore. I need to try to get an order in to there ASAP because the shipping ($3!!) is book rate and takes a couple of weeks. Be aware that “shopworn” books really are shopworn, so you might want to avoid those for fancy-type gifts.

I’m also thinking that magazine subscriptions may be the way to go this year for several people. I mean, I love getting magazines, who doesn’t? I need to fire that up, too. Is there a site with lots of magazines to choose from that you know of? Reviews would also be great for more obscure magazines, so I know what the story is.

And so on to the Question of the Day: How’s shopping going for you? Found any great sites or stores?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: cat eye « love, loss, and rainbows
  2. Jennifer Jones
    Dec 05, 2009 @ 06:22:40

    I’ll talk shopping a few days late. Check out Amazon for super-low magazine subscriptions. I have ordered some one-year subscriptions for $5 recently. I think you have to check in often. I ordered “Cooking Light” for that price, and at that time there were several others such as “Southern Living” and “Sports Illustrated for Kids.” Those are the only other two coming to mind at this late hour.

  3. thisbumpyjourney
    Dec 06, 2009 @ 14:36:14

    Ooh, thanks, Jennifer. I hadn’t thought about Amazon for magazines. I used to get “Cooking Light” and loved it – really fresh and fancy-ish (but not too hard) recipes. I’ll check that out.

Leave a Reply

