cat eye

So, seeing as nobody else feels like talking about shopping so much (…ahem…) how about some brilliant and adorable baby footage? Everybody loves that, right?

Here we have Rainbow playing with Rockinrolla. He’s not talking or anything here, just being his cute self, but I include this mostly because Rockinrolla si being so charming and sweet with him. He is such a wonderful big brother.

And here we have Rainbow with his first recorded word, CAT. I think he does it at about the one minute mark. You kind of have to take my word for it, because it’s easy to miss. The C gets sort of swallowed up, but trust me – he says it. When he feels like it. And obviously, much better off camera.


And here we have his best on-camera performance to date: a very articulate version of EYE. Off camera, he was doing a great Blanche Devereaux impression with it: ahhheeeaiiiiieee but I got him on camera pretty well, too, in all his mid-meal crusty-faced glory.

+++++

In other news: The SW emailed me today and let me know that F had left her a voicemail with her new address and a message that she would like to still get the pictures and updates.

So, that’s very good.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CA Mama
    Dec 06, 2009 @ 01:45:55

    Lovely movies, and great news about F! I asked my kids’ birthmothers what they thought about your situation over Thanksgiving, and they both felt you should send letters regardless of sureness of receipt.

    I was talking with our pediatrician last week, she is also a mom through adoption, and she mentioned that her kids refer to her as their ‘regular mom’, which I think I love.

    Have a good week, and good luck with the sleeping issues. We never pushed our two and a half year old to get to sleep on her own, and now spend an hour putting her down each evening, then have her in bed with us from around 1 am on…

  2. thisbumpyjourney
    Dec 06, 2009 @ 14:47:11

    Thanks, CA Mama. I’m glad I had gone with that strategy – the continued sending of letters regardless – because she had several to get forwarded to her by the time she called the SW. Thank you for talking to your kids’ birthmothers about it. I have only read about what birthmothers have said on online forums or in adoption literature, so I really value the fact that you can talk to them in person and ask their opinions.

    I like ‘regular mom’, too. That’s really sweet.

    Rainbow’s doing okay with the sleep – it could certainly be a lot WORSE – but I just hate for him to be sad at all. I’m sure it’s partly to do with the fact that he has neither bumper pad nor mobile in his crib now (we play nature sounds and soothing music on a stereo for him) but I do think it’s mostly developmental. I’m thinking about getting him one of those toy glow worms, maybe, or one of the light-up aquarium things. I’ve considered bringing him to bed with me for naps when I’m tired, too, but I don’t know if that would even work. He hasn’t wanted to sleep with us since he was little bitty. And it would probably be confusing to sometimes sleep in his crib and sometimes sleep with me for naps.

  3. Auntie Sue
    Dec 07, 2009 @ 03:57:02

    He’s a genius!

Leave a Reply

