whew.

Well, it’s Monday morning Wednesday afternoon now, and it’s all sort of a mildly crabby blur, but the work is almost over. Pretty much.

It’s such a bummer that there’s so much to be done at Christmastime.

(and please NO, don’t chime in and say it appears I haven’t grasped the true meaning of Christmas, because I think I can reach your shins from here and give them a sound kick)

There just IS a lot to do, and when you have kids home from school and a relatively smallish and needy person who requires lots of surveillance and cuddles, there’s not really enough time to do it all.

I wish we could do some kind of charity activity as a family at Christmastime, but the days are honestly just packed. The kids have done some fun stuff with friends and other family members, and I’ve frantically shopped and wrapped and cleaned while they were gone, and the littlest bun makes any sort of outing extra complicated. I bought several bags of chocolate chips and pecans and cans of condensed milk and bread yeast, and all this stuff is mocking me from the pantry. You thought you’d have time to BAKE, foolish girl?? bwah-ha-haaaa….

In the last few years, we’ve read aloud from the Christmas story in the Children’s Bible and from various other Christmas books, and had the boys read what we thought were important Christmas stuff, but we haven’t worked that out this year. After dinner and Rainbow’s bedtime, we’ve been chilling out with books and TV and the computer. I feel like I should try to work it in, but it’s just so nice to let the kids do what they want at the end of the day when the chores are done. I do think I’ll try to make that happen tonight; some pass-the-book Christmas story reading sounds lovely.

And, of course, it’s all good, really. I think the kids are having fun and Rainbow is a little love as usual. I did try to streamline this year with a multitude of magazine subscription gifts and several mailed-straight-from-the-company gifts, so I suppose I have been doing less than in previous years. And I get little doses of impossibly-sweet Rainbow time and laugh-til-I-cry time with the big boys.

But, whew.

And on to the Question of the Day: Are you both exhausted and frantic, or are you somehow magically able to hold it all together and be gracious and charming and fun? Are you fitting in some really meaningful activities in this last little countdown, or are you trying to wrap up loose ends and make sure you’re not forgetting anyone or anything important? Have you pared it down this year (or have you always been sort of pared down) or is it the wild and crazy business as usual?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary C
    Dec 23, 2009 @ 22:43:05

    Your Christmas sounds lovely and warm. Do the things you enjoy, let the “should do’s ” take a backseat. Because I know your boys enjoy the family time, and I’m sure you know the old adage….most kids never say “I wish momma had worried about cleaning the house more”.

    Just spend time with loved ones & kick the dust bunnies under the rug!

    Mare

  2. CA Mama
    Dec 24, 2009 @ 06:59:38

    As a good friend and neighbor said this week, “Don’t you wish we could sit back and enjoy this time, rather than be so frantic?” So you sounds like your just about on schedule with California. Merry Christmas!!

  3. thisbumpyjourney
    Dec 24, 2009 @ 14:22:06

    Thanks, guys. I’m feeling much better this morning. I think pretty much all I need to do is wrap a couple more gifts and then clear off the dining room table of wrapping debris. ahhhh… Also, after waking at about 4:30 and having a very satisfying quiet cuddle and rock session, Rainbow slept until 8:00. (!!!)

    We did get in a reading session last night, which was great. I read the Christmas story from the children’s bible (leaving out the circumcision and the ordering of the deaths of the boy babies by Herod, but getting the holy family settled in Nazareth) and the boys were all quiet and interested. And I read How the Grinch Stole Christmas, also a hit, and then the Commodore and I looked through my Sister Wendy Christmas book for awhile.

    So, it was very, very nice. An easy tradition for us to keep up.

  4. Debbie
    Dec 24, 2009 @ 15:21:53

    I am exhausted, I actually went to bed at 10:00 last night which is way unusual for me, I never go before 12; or so. My husband coun’t believe it, I told him, “I told you i was exhausted”. I have not been home 1 night this entire month before 8 each night and it finally caught up with me, but after some much needed sleep I’m good. Chistmas with my mom was last Sunday and we did the unthinkable, we didn’t cook, we got KFC. And do you know what? It was wonderful and we wern’t stressed about cooking. On Christmas day were going to my daughter’s house, my husband is cooking the ham, and we’re doing sandwiches and chips. No potato salad, no casseroles, and guess what, I’m glad, this makes it so much easier especially since I’m working today. Plans have changed this year, so this will be my fist Christmas Eve in 40 years that I do not have to be somewhere, so my wonderful husband suggested drinks and apps at Calhouns. I said Yes, sounds very nice. Have a very Merry Christmas, we all know you got your Christmas Gift way early this year. Hope Raninbow’s 1st Christmas is wonderful, I’m sure it will be.

  5. Karen Witkin Swidler
    Dec 24, 2009 @ 23:06:34

    There was a report on CNN/Headline News today that people who ignore “the little things” during the holidays — the overcooked roast, a little dust in the house — are actually more personally fulfilled and happier than those who want everything perfectly done. So, focus on your kiddos, love on that beautiful baby, and the other stuff will fall into place!

    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

