swing

I took Rainbow to Ward’s playground the other day.

I know there are thirty million and two ways to mark the transition of a loved one, but I think that building (with the donations and help of many, many caring people) a playground in Ward’s honor is one of the best things we’ve ever done.

There were a couple of families already there: a grandma with her two granddaughters and their shiny new bikes, and a dad with a son and daughter on the playground. As we were leaving, two more vans with kids pulled in. I love that the playground gets used.

I love that that’s the place I go to remember him; it’s where his statue is. I love that it’s Ward’s playground.

And yes, for so many months I would go there and stroll and miss Ward so much and wonder when, if ever, we would bring home a baby.

And now he’s here.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mac
    Jan 17, 2010 @ 20:34:41

    Man, my heart is mush right now.

    Pushed in and gushy for the wonderful love you have been given and the amazing love you share with all of your boys. Always.

    .mac 🙂

  2. Megan Dubois
    Jan 18, 2010 @ 16:09:45

    the way that this picture came thru on my computer had baby’s face covered with rainbows. very sweet.

Leave a Reply

