on the to-do list

and inspired by the Comodore’s school, where they are required to send handwritten letters to people they admire, I’m going to start sending letters to famous and accomplished people I like.

…Why? you ask. Well, why not?

It would be awfully fun to get a personalized letter back in return, written by a real, live famous person, no?

For example: The Commodore sent a fan letter to Ray Bradbury and got a very sweet and personal note back from him. Cool, huh? Rockinrolla sent a fan letter to GW a few years ago and got a very nice personalized letter and signed picture back from him, and the Commodore sent Obama one and got… well, a generic and fairly bland letter back from his office. Which kind of makes me scratch my head and not think too hard on that one.

Anyway! This will be a fun experiment. I’m thinking that if I send one a week, maybe I’ll get a response every couple of months? It’ll make going to the post office exciting!

If you’d like to join in the fun, this database is a good one.

For starters, I’m thinking Susan Sarandon. I adore her, and it’s kind of hard to say why. I guess it started with The Witches of Eastwick, and of course Thelma and Louise, and Rocky Horror. It’s kind of less about the movies, though, and more about that I just think she’s awesome. I love her and Tim Robbins (although – are they broken up now? sheesh, what kind of fan AM I?) and have always thought they were a super-cool and artsy and fun-looking couple. And, as Daddy J can attest, I used to DREAM about Susan Sarandon, in a admiring/jealous sort of way. We’d be at the same celebrity bash, and I’d be there with her old boyfriend, and we’d do a lot of glaring at each other. Or we’d show up to an Event in the Same Dress! and glare at each other some more, and sort of congratulate each other on looking great, while preening and trying to look better than the other one.

Anyway! Probably more than I needed to share! But I do love Susan Sarandon, and maybe my writing her will spark a beautiful friendship and she and Tim and Daddy J and I can all go off somewhere fancy and beachy together and drink mojitos and play Scrabble and charades. Or maybe she’ll send me a signed glossy pic and I can frame it and hang it by my bathroom vanity.

I’ll let you know if she writes back.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cousinbetsytant
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 14:31:47

    Great idea!!!! I hate to break it to you but Susan and Tim split recently. It broke my heart. I really thought they were the real deal. Anyway, keep us posted.

  2. Mama Jamz
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 15:12:00

    Bummer. Poor Susan and Tim. I bet they wind up back together. I can’t really imagine either of them with someone else. They seemed such a great match.

  3. Char
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 16:38:35

    What a great idea about the letters–keep us posted as to anyone who responds. Very sad about Tim and Susan–20 years or so was it?

Leave a Reply

