bare

I’ve started getting in the tub with Rainbow. It’s great.

It started the way it did with the other boys: my sore feet hanging over the side of the tub to soak. Grimacing a bit when he peed in the tub, rationalizing that a little diluted baby pee never hurt anybody. The cold I’ve developed sealed the deal: the warm water was awfully compelling, and I took the plunge.

As with the other boys when they were babies, he was so excited when I got in. Giggling: You’re getting in TOO??? and making room and handing me toys. It’s so sweet, and it’s so much more immediate and natural to play with his bath toys when I’m right there with him. He loves having the warm water poured on his back and tummy and hands, and he has a car that we zoom around the tub.

I think there was a tiny part of me that was a little worried that F would be ghouled out if she knew I took baths with him, but I realized that’s ridiculous. Not that everybody should bathe with their babies if they don’t feel like it, but that’s the kind of Mama I am. I like to take baths with my babies, especially at the end of they day when we’re both kind of worn out, and I think it’s healthy for babies to learn that there’s nothing gross or shameful about nakedness.

It’s nice.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen Witkin Swidler
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 01:14:09

    I love this post… and I totally agree with your perspective!

  2. Beverly Sanford
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 16:20:57

    I am also a bathtub mom! LOVED my baths with my girls when they were little. I so remember being pregnant with my second child, Lela. I took many baths with Olivia during my pregnancy and it was such a great time to “introduce” her sister that was on the way… Sweet memories. Nudity is so natural, it hurts me so that our society deems it “dirty.” Anyway, all this brings up lots of emotions as I am raising girls in this crazed society.. So many confusing messages sent regarding nudity and body images. In saying all that, baths are such a sweet time on many levels. Wrapping up a long day, cleansing ourselves from all the worries of the day, etc. Both my girls LOVE, LOVE baths.

    Also, how does your calendar look for lunch this Friday?

    Have a great Sunday!

    Beverly

  3. Mac
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 00:25:53

    Bath tubs and babies: I’m pro, yo!

    I loved soaking in the tub with my little men. I actually miss being able to do that! Kenny still does from time to time. I don’t know when it happened, but somewhere between birth and 4 years old, it got a little awkward for me. Neither of the boys gave off that vibe, but I just felt different. I dunno.

    Now it’s just lots and lots of snuggling and cuddling watching old Andy Griffith shows in black and white and reading fun books!

    Hope you are feeling better!

    .mac 🙂

  4. Wendy
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 16:55:12

    I adore taking a bath with my little guy. I clearly remember being really excited when he was like 5 or 6 weeks old and his belly button was done healing and we took our first bath together in the big tub. We’ve been taking baths together ever since (he is 22 months now). I will be very sad when he is too big for that.

  5. Dana
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 21:31:13

    I have always bathed my kids with me. It just seemed easier than working around that darn baby tub. In fact I still let my youngest 2 (3 and 5, a girl and a boy) hop in with me if they see me soaking and want in. My kids also (Even the the 13 year old boy) see nothing wrong with coming right into the bathroom with me when I am trying to use the toilet, if they have something to say. Though I do wish they would all stop that!

  6. Mama Jamz
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 23:14:45

    I was trying to remember when I quit bathing with Ward. With the big boys being just 18 months apart, they were almost always in the tub together, so I bathed with them rarely. But with Ward, I believed he was the last baby we’d have . I LOVED to bathe with him and wanted to as long as I could. I was doing it up until his accident, at least on occasion, I’m pretty sure. That tub in our bathroom has jets and makes insane bubble baths, so it was really fun. Nice memories.

Leave a Reply

