um, hi?

So, yes, the busybusybusy. We’re all about it.

Rainbow’s birthday was stellar.

Delayed a week due to mama and big brother illness, but lovely nonetheless. A delightful family affair. He did fall against the coffee table and there was blood (sigh…) but he recovered fairly quickly.



He had his own cake (a beautiful Mama-produced cake) and was not terribly interested in it. Also, the ice cream: meh.


(Mama made the grown-ups a cake, too.)


He was all into swinging, though. No surprise there.

The big boys had a great time playing with their beloved Uncle MonkeyThomas in the backyard.

In other news, he’s all about toy cars now. Pushing them, crawling away coyly and then crawling back, insisting that Mama push the car for him and make entertaining sounds. Also, all about the finger foods (wheat bread with Tofutti cream cheese and strawberry spread, cheese, baby yogurt kisses, banana pieces) and not so much about the soft baby foods; I have to sneak them in so he gets ample food.

And (gasp!) he doesn’t seem to like the Gerber mac n’cheese anymore.

We’ve been getting out more, what with the warm weather and the defeat of Teh Sick, and Rainbow is totally digging it. He loves to walk around the yard and look at stuff, chase the dogs, etc. We’ve gone to the park a couple of times and learned that he’s also a slide loving boy.

The ball was terrific. As is my wont (hanging head in shame…) I didn’t eat so much for dinner and quenched my thirst with white wine. Daddy J took me home early-ish when my feet started to hurt.

But! It was a roaring success. We made slightly less than last year for Habitat, which, in this economy, we are elated about. We made $15K just off of the auction stuff. So, GREAT! We have the theme and colors all set for next year and I am tickled pink.

(tee-hee.)

I guess I like my look here. I don’t know.

I’m wishing I’d worn a daintier necklace, or else skipped it entirely, and maybe done a off-center bun at the nape of my neck and put the flower to one side beside it. I got some very nice supportive love from Facebook friends with this photo, so am feeling a little less sheepish. I still feel like it’s a lot more Carmen Miranda than Audrey Hepburn.

But, you know what?

I bet Carmen Miranda was more fun.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meghan Cobble
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 00:49:37

    So pro the flower up in that hair! So pro!

    Love the color…that truly is your signature hue!

    The dress looks great!

    Look at that baby being one! i am glad you are feeling better and yummo on those cakes!

    Cake is good!

    .mac 🙂

  2. Mama Jamz
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 02:46:56

    Thanks, mac. I do love me a red dress.

    It was nice to have his special one year old t-shirt for him to wear – thank you so much. 🙂 The day was a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

