PSA: Kroger

So, I’ll spare you the gory play-by-play. We stopped in at Kroger after Rainbow and I picked up the Commodore from school, I ended up buying a moderately large amount of stuff, Rainbow and the Commodore were both a little bored with the whole thing by checkout time.

And then it all went awry.

The take-home messages are as follows:

1. Give your credit card a good swipe in the machine the FIRST time. DO NOT give it a flimsy little half-swipe where you pull it out before it passes all the way through. THIS MIGHT CAUSE YOUR CREDIT CARD COMPANY TO FREEZE YOUR CARD WHEN YOU RE-SWIPE. This will cause a message to flash on the screen that reads: UNAUTHORIZED USER, and you will be ushered to customer service.

2. Make sure that the secondary credit card in your wallet didn’t expire a month ago.

3. Be aware that Kroger, and possibly other stores, have this policy that I just learned about: If you haven’t written a check there in a year, they will only take a check for a max of $150.

4. Also be advised that it might take multiple calls to the credit card company, after each of which they assure you that the card is good to go, before you can actually get the machine to accept your card.

5. The customer service guy at the Kroger I go to has poor people skills. Don’t expect things like eye contact and multi-syllabic words if this happens to you.

And I certainly hope it doesn’t.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 15:54:01

    Oh, for the love of Pete… That’s beyond annoying.
    Don’t they have one of those check guarantee services? If you’re a regular customer they should recognize that and make an exception.
    I’m not a big fan of Kroger. I am the kind of person who will make a big stink when my sale item doesn’t ring up properly, and this happened almost daily at Kroger. They also do not stop to make the correction in the system to prevent the error from happening again. They’re not nice.
    I love love love Publix, though, and thank my lucky stars daily that I get to shop there, now that I’ve moved from middle TN to SC.
    Personally, I wouldn’t be returning to Kroger after that.

  2. Mama Jamz
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 16:47:52

    Yeah, it was a big bummer. On the bright side, I didn’t see anyone I know. I know this kind of thing has or will happen to everyone at some point, but it’s hard to not feel like a deadbeat when you’re at customer service on the cell phone with a couple of crabby children and a cart full of groceries.

    I thought all the big stores now had those check things where the check goes through immediately, and then you get the check back as your receipt, but not the little Kroger I go to. I can see them not wanting to take a large check if you’re out of state, maybe, or a new customer, and certainly if you’ve written a bad check in the past, but this is pretty much the only grocery store I go to, and I’ve NEVER written a bad check to them.

    I don’t have a lot of complaints with them in general, although it annoys me when the cashier doesn’t keep an eye out for the instant coupons on the packages. They don’t do that at all, and I hate getting home and seeing that I’ve forgotten to point that out to them.

    I wish I had a better place to go to, but it’s pretty much the super Walmart (noooooo….. not for groceries…. noooooo……) or driving forty minutes away to get to a Publix.

  3. Auntie Sue
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 03:37:48

    I’m a Kroger person, but would be Publix if one was close and convenient. But, at Kroger two things annoy me to no end. First, checker people often chat with friends while ringing up my purchases. I want them to pay attention to me and my stuff! Second, I wipe my cart thoroughly with the sanitizer things they provide when I come in. Then, when I check out, they put my groceries in a different cart – an unwiped cart. Argh.

Leave a Reply

