strengthening

I joined a health club and have gone a few times, and it’s great. I LOVE to work up a good sweat and dance around. The elliptical’s fine and all, and I’ve done that along with weights a couple of times, but I had kind of forgotten how fun aerobics classes are. I get that adrenalin rush (it happens when Daddy J takes me dancing, too – take me dancing, Daddy J!) when it’s just SO FUN to jump around for hours. I don’t get it with the elliptical so much, although I soldier through and do a good half-hour, but the aerobics totally does it for me. LOVE LOVE LOVE it.

The bonus with this health club is that a lot of my friends go there, and it’s extra fun to take a funky dance-y aerobics class with friends. Also, cousin N often brings her youngest child to the nursery, so Rainbow can play with him there.

Rainbow does pretty well in the nursery. I kind of wish the babysitter in there had a little more pep. I’m all: So, my child might need a little distraction as I walk out the door. ahem. MIGHT help if you would get in here and play with him some. MIGHT need you to do that. ahem. Oh look, Rainbow! Your friend is coming over to play with you! And she sort of makes her way over. Reluctantly.

However, she’s plenty nice, and there have so far only been one or two other kids in there. Today I forgot Soft Puppy and his pacifier, which was probably why he was sort of unhappy when I got there. Not actually crying, but vocally protesting and griping a bit. I’ll remember Soft Puppy next time, though, and I bet we’ll be golden.

~~~~~~~

Ruby smells like a cross between Old Lady soap and Preteen Girl body spray. I kid you not. You can bury your face in her ample shoulders and breathe deeply and NOT be nauseated, just sort of amazed with the floral-soapiness of it all.

(Which totally reminds me of Pimp My Ride. Like, taking something vile and making it all fresh and lovely and pleasant to be around.

Oooo, reality show idea? Pimp My Dog.

Erm.

Yeah.

Never mind.)

The vet shampoo, used a whole week ago, totally degreased and destinkified her, and I’ve applied a couple of deodorant products for good measure since then. The ionic brush seems like a totally ineffective gimmick, but we’ll continue to use it and think that maybe it’s helping in some way. It makes no sound or anything, it’s just a plastic brush with stiff, widely spaced bristles and a blinking light to show it’s on, but, eh. I’ll give it a good shot.

~~~~~~~

The Commodore is about to go to the state semifinals for the National Geography Bee. Yes indeedy we are proud.

Also, he got accepted to the private school in town that is Daddy J’s and my alma mater (and Rockinrolla’s current school) so he will in fact be going there in the fall. The Commodore is doing sort of startlingly well with the trap shooting, along with the cross country in the fall, and he can continue both of these activities at his new school. Or choose to take up one of a bazillion others.

It is so very sweet to see Rockinrolla and the Commodore talking about this school, Rockinrolla describing it and telling his big brother what to expect. I think it’s going to work out magnificently.

~~~~~~~

We had a golden day a the zoo yesterday. It’s the Commodore’s spring break and Rockinrolla took his A honor roll holiday from school, so I had my big boys and my baby boy with me on this gorgeous 72 degree day. Awesome.







Rainbow was sort of dragging when we got to the bouncy foam room of toddler delights, but then he perked right up. He’s a social guy, squealing and running up to other little kids to touch them on a shoulder. We had a brief moment of panic when he started to take a chomp out of another little boy, but I jumped in and pulled him back before he made contact.





(Yes, he’s totally a biter right now. I’ve never had a biting child. It’s not that he’s mad or anything; I think he thinks it’s a kiss. He reaches in with his little wide open mouth and then chomps you like a peach. He seems to enjoy it and think that the bitee should, too. Except it hurts the victim and tends to leave a mark. It really crushes his feelings to have his little bared teeth pulled away and to hear the word “NO” about the whole thing. Poor little chomper.)

~~~~~~~

Also, whatever baby crack they put in Gerber #2 mac-n-cheese is apparently in the toddler version as well. Rainbow is all over it. Gerber pasta rings in tomato sauce? Ptooooooie. Gerber lasagna bites? Oh H to the NO, woman. I’ll eat some bread and jam, maybe some banana chunks, refried beans, and that havarti’s pretty good, but really it’s all about the mac.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meghan Cobble
    Mar 26, 2010 @ 16:04:47

    Okay, this post totally had me cracking up.

    Let me share with you some of my favs of yours…

    He seems to enjoy it and think that the bitee should, too.

    Also, whatever baby crack they put in Gerber #2 mac-n-cheese is apparently in the toddler version as well.

    Rainbow does pretty well in the nursery. I kind of wish the babysitter in there had a little more pep. I’m all: So, my child might need a little distraction as I walk out the door. ahem. MIGHT help if you would get in here and play with him some. MIGHT need you to do that. ahem. Oh look, Rainbow! Your friend is coming over to play with you! And she sort of makes her way over. Reluctantly.

    Oooo, reality show idea? Pimp My Dog.

    Oh H to the NO, woman.

    and it’s extra fun to take a funky dance-y aerobics class with friends.

    I get that adrenalin rush (it happens when Daddy J takes me dancing, too – take me dancing, Daddy J!) when it’s just SO FUN to jump around for hours.

    Love that Commodore cheesed it up with mama too!

    Let’s talk your hair…is it naturally that glossy pretty blackish brown? Really pretty hair, sister! Still loving the bang look and your hair grows like a WEED! It was super short like 1.5 seconds ago and now look how long it is!

    Fun zoo trip with all the boys!

    Great post. Really got into the humor…I mean I am sorta still giggling now..

    H to the NO, woman! (priceless)

    .mac 🙂

  2. Mama Jamz
    Mar 26, 2010 @ 18:25:12

    You’re so sweet, Mac. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    Yes, my hair is that dark naturally – actually darker than it’s showing up. There’s some reddish gold in there from when I was using permanent haircolor at home (who knew it turned dark brown hair reddish??) that has to grow out.

    I’ve been covering up grays with semipermanent hair color. Last time I did it myself and I think that’s the way to go. I shelled out $80 last time at the hairdresser for semipermanent color ONLY, and decided that’s ridiculous – I can do semipermanent at home. I think it’s pretty safe and foolproof, if you stick to your natural color. No developer or anything to strip your hair. So I did it a couple of weeks ago for $5 a pop, and will probably just have to do it once a month. The color was “darkest brown,” but I’m sort of tempted to go with out and out BLACK next time and see what happens.

    And yes, it does grow fast. Thank goodness. The short look was not ideal for me.

  3. Mama Jamz
    Mar 26, 2010 @ 18:26:13

    Also, I got that smile out of the Commodore by means of a sharp rib poke. Mwah ha haaaaa…. That’s what he gets for being photo-smile-reluctant, *I* say.

  4. Meghan Cobble
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 17:49:23

    A mama’s got to do what a mama’s got to do for a smile!

    You have rock solid hair if you ask me! Oooh laaa laa!

    Oh yeah, meant to tell you earlier…baby diaper covers with name or monogram are $25. And Rainbow could totally rock one out for cutie pie pictures! I make them for Mollye all the time!

    .mac 🙂

  5. clara
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 21:01:47

    Little Rainbow is just so cute & chubby! i also love love love the gorilla shirt :)! I love the photo of the 3 of them together at the zoo, looks like a great day!

  6. Mama Jamz
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 18:02:37

    Thanks, Clara. I came SO close to buying several more of those t-shirts in bigger sizes because I love it, too. I really wish I had. The gorilla is in soft flocking – it’s really cute. And yes, it was a great day.

Leave a Reply

