productive

So, it’s been a busy and gratifying time around here.

Habitat Ball planning is well underway. I’ve been asking for auction donations from merchants and individuals. Actually, this becomes less arduous every year. I guess I worry less about a No, because a No is just fine, and worry more about whether we’ll get enough stuff to make a good amount of money for Habitat. It’s very rare that anyone gets visibly annoyed by being asked to donate, and even if they do… eh.

My friend D. and I went to Party City yesterday to purchase wall coverings and balloons for the decorations. Rainbow was with us and was a pretty good sport for most of the trip. He enjoys movement of the shopping cart, obviously, and not so much the sitting there while we discuss our options, and got vocally unhappy while we had to fill out forms for our tax exemption and organizational status. But we made our purchases and probably got all we need to get; friend N.G. does the table centerpieces.

Aaaannnnd, I checked in on my young lovers in my romance novel. They’re getting along nicely and enjoying each other’s company very much.

Aaaannnnd, I had another piece published on like totally 80’s, a very nostalgic article about popped collars. Fun! I’m having a great time thinking back about music and fashion and culture in the 80s and can’t wait for Rainbow’s nap so that I can do some more work.

It’s been incredibly satisfying to work, either on the standardized test passages, parenting article submissions (yes, I’m still submitting), 80s articles, and my romance novel. I take a huge cup of hot tea and a bowl of baby carrots with me, then write and crunch away.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. macmommy@comcast.net
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 18:01:52

    I need a writing gig. Not standardized testing though….whew, don’t pick me for that. But something in regards to fashion or parenting…I could swing. You lucky little hot tea bunny!!

    .mac 🙂

  2. Mama Jamz
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 18:34:52

    Yes, you would be great at that, Mac. I’ve been a submitting fool in the past month or so. You could totally do it, too.

Leave a Reply

